Strawberry Shortcake!

I’ve been a fan of Strawberry Shortcake every since I can remember! (Which is when I was about 2 years old and my room was completely decorated in Strawberry Shortcake!) Look familiar?

Strawberry_Shortcake_2003

So cute!

In all honesty, I started this post to talk about the kind of Strawberry Shortcake that you eat =)

In my hometown of Plant City, there’s a BIG event going on right now – it’s called the Florida Strawberry Festival! I don’t think I ever missed a year attending the fair-like extravaganza growing up, and I still go every year – it’s really a lot of fun. The whole event is built around…you guessed it…the strawberry! Being that Plant City is the Winter Strawberry Capital of the world, and being that there are only around 50,000 people who live in Plant City…well, you can see why it would be a big deal! But folks come from all over to visit the Festival – even United States Presidents have come to taste the famous Strawberry Shortcake!

Strawberry-Shortcake 2

strawberry-shortcake_300

strawberry-shortcake

Are you hungry yet???

While I always think that the Strawberry Shortcake from the Festival itself is the best, since we’ve had an overabundance of strawberries at our house the past couple of weeks (’tis the season!) I’ve been making some at home. Very easy – if you’ve never had Strawberry Shortcake before, you should try it!

I pick up some dessert shells from Publix, one of my favorite grocery stores in Central Florida, or some Sara Lee Pound Cake, a few containers of fresh strawberries (I LOVE Astin Farms, Wish Farms or Spivey Farms brands, all grown right in Plant City!), and either Cool Whip or Reddi Whip…depending on what I’m feeling.

I take about half of the strawberries and puree them, then slice the rest. After I leave them sitting in the fridge overnight, lots of the juices start flowing – even better for soaking into the “shortcake”! So then, it’s a dessert shell or a slice of pound cake, covered in strawberry puree, then strawberry slices, then cream on top! Here’s mine:

photo

After a large baking project over the weekend that exhausted all my bowls, I made a double-decker Strawberry Shortcake for my hubby in his favorite coffee mug. He approved. The possibilities are endless!

Do you have a made-from scratch Strawberry Shortcake recipe? How do you prepare it? I’d love to hear about it!

See ya along the road,
Kristen

Leave a Reply

