What’s in Your Purse?

I often think that I carry too much in my purse, but then I don’t know what I should eliminate! I mean…what if I NEED something, and I need it after I’ve decided to not carry it anymore? (Ah, these voices in my head…)

So I figured some opinions wouldn’t hurt!

This is the purse I’m carrying today. (Yes, today. Yes, I’m one of those switch-out-my-purse-everyday people.)

Purse

This is one my hubby bought me for Christmas – I LOVE my Vera Bradley! (Let me just say that yes, I like large purses, and he always makes fun of me for them – calls them carpet bags! But HE still buys me big ones!)

Here’s what it looks like inside at first glance.

Inside

Now, let’s break it down a bit…here’s everything inside my purse, all laid out.

All contents

When I look at this picture, it doesn’t seem like much…but when I’m digging in my purse for something specific, or I’m switching out purses, it seems like A LOT!!!

BD 1

So you can see I have…

  • An umbrella (that normally isn’t in there – it was just pretty rainy earlier this week, so I haven’t taken it out yet!)
  • The blue paisley bag (another Vera Bradley!) next to the umbrella is a mixture of things (like female hygiene products and floss, etc.) I like to keep it all contained!
  • The red bag underneath that one is another mixture of things…the blue paisley bag just kinda overflowed!
  • The shiny pink pouch is called a Card Cubby. It’s a Clever Container product that alphabetically organizes all those store loyalty cards! (And I have TONS of those!)
  • And then the last item is my sunglasses case. (I’m notorious for breaking sunglasses – this hard case is a lifesaver! And it doesn’t hurt that it’s Vera Bradley, as well!)

BD 2

  • Red wallet
  • Green makeup bag
  • Notepad for sudden ideas
  • The little Coach pouch holds gift cards that I have that can be used at any time
  • Kleenex! (Especially during allergy season, am I right?)

And finally…

BD 3

  • 5 gum
  • Listerine spray and strips
  • Extra car key (because I’ve been starting my car and letting the windshield defrost while I go back into the warm house these days)
  • Lotion and antibacterial gel (right now CVS and Bath & Body Works brands…but I change these up all the time)
  • A variety of writing utensils

So there you have it! Is that too much “stuff” to carry in a purse? Some days I really feel like it is! Anything you think I should get rid of, and why? What’s in YOUR purse?

9 thoughts on “What’s in Your Purse?

  1. Hi Kristen,

    I have started pulling stuff out of my purse and putting them in my car or at my desk so I have less to carry around

    in my purse:
    – my car key is alone in one outside pocket so I can get to it easily
    – in another pocket: lip gloss, gum, mints, nail clippers, very small lotion, Kleenex, oil absorbing wipes
    – in the main compartment: my sunglasses case, my wallet (cash, all those frequent buyer cards, receipts, gift cards) and then a little sleeve with my ID and credit cards I use most often that I can pull out without sifting through the whole wallet
    – a foldable recycle bag in a small pouch
    – pen
    – cell phone

    in my car:
    – my eyeglasses for driving at night or taking into a movie theater
    – coupon pouch
    – wet wipes
    – kleenex
    – umbrellas
    – grocery bags
    – drop cloth in the trunk in case I buy spillable items or need something under the dog

    at my desk at work:
    – make up/brush/toothbrush/mouthwash stash
    – various snacks
    – crystal light
    – Brita water pitcher

    I recommend a good notebook app for your smartphone to eliminate the notepad. Also, check out the app called Keyring. You can scan in all of your loyalty cards into your phone so you don’t have to carry them around with you.

    🙂

  2. Pingback: Reader Responses | The Road to Domestication

  3. Does your website have a contact page? I’m having a tough time locating it but, I’d like to send you
    an email. I’ve got some suggestions for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great website and I look forward to seeing it develop over time.

  4. I enjoyed your post (followed the link from A Bowl Full of Lemons). I find myself feeling much like you–big bag, always trying to figure out what I can delete but inevitably end up finding it all to be “essential”. As such, I really enjoy seeing what’s in other people’s bags. To me, yours doesn’t look excessive! I not only use on nearly a daily basis everything that’s in my bag, but it pretty much all comes out once I get to work so I can access things throughout the day (make-up bag, calendar, task list, cell phone). One recommendation that I read is not to carry anything that you don’t use at least once a week. I don’t strictly follow that, though. For example, I may not use my nail clipper on a weekly basis, but if I snag a nail it drives me NUTS so it stays in my purse.

    I’ve been tempted to get that card buddy from Clever Container myself. I loaded a bunch of my cards onto Keyring Thing, but there’s still so many without bar codes–AARP, AAA, medical, dental, vision, etc.

    The only suggestion I can see is I wondered while reading the post why the need for both breath spray and strips. Now that I think of it, doesn’t gum sort of serve the same purpose, too? Actually, I guess I do have a second recommendation. It looks like you are carrying three pens. My rule of thumb is two pens. I initiated that practice as a single person thinking that if one pen dies, then I’ve still got a pen. However, now that I’ve got a husband and am consistently being asked at church, meetings, etc., “Do you have an extra pen?” I have a second reason for carrying two pens. 😉

    I love the minimalist, uncluttered look of your site! I’m going to snoop around a little more here. 🙂

    • Don’t carry anything that’s not used at least once a week – that’s a great idea!

      I think the reason why I have three breath freshener products and three pens is because I’m anal and I like things in threes, ha! (I really have no other explanation for it, honestly!)

      Thanks for your insightful comments! Stop by anytime 🙂

Leave a Reply

