Walk Around Things Day

I’m one of those weird people who likes all the crazy “days” the calendar lists – for instance, today is “Walk Around Things Day”.

What? What does that mean?

Giftypedia (neat and informative website, if you’re not familiar with it!) says this about today:

There is little information on the Walk Around Things Day holiday. Most references see it as a day where you should walk around potential problems, both literally and figuratively. In the literal sense, don’t walk under a ladder or through a puddle, but around it. Though, it would seem that most of us would do that already. Figuratively, it is suggested that today is a day to avoid arguments or potential points of conflict by avoiding or walking around the topic.

However, since we were not able to locate the origin of this holiday or any authoritative documentation, we wonder if the meaning of this holiday was meant to be more simple — to get out for some exercise and take a walk around things. Like a walk around a pond or a small lake, or around the mall, downtown, or a nearby campus or park.

Thus, until we are able to find the intended meaning for this day, it’s dealers choice — celebrate it how you think this day was meant to be recognized.

What amuses me the most is that when I read the above description, none of the examples given were any that had come to MY mind. (Surprise surprise!) I thought to myself, “Walk Around Things Day…reminds me of the things that sit around your home that you need to give some attention to, and you just keep walking around them.”

Do you have things like that at your house? I do! I do, and I HATE it! Those are the things that, when I finally sit down on the couch next to my husband at the end of the day, I see and they make me get back up and take care of them. They literally bother me. (Have I mentioned in this blog that I’m anal? I AM!)

So I thought, what a better day than today to go ahead and “Walk Around Things”, but how about making a list of all the things you’re walking around? Then you have them listed in black and white, and you can take steps to take care of them! Once you accomplish the tasks involved, just think about how wonderful it will feel to cross those things off your list!

Here’s a little something to help you out: A FREE Printable To-Do-List from The Creativity Exchange!

Final-The-List-PNG

After all, there is already a Take a Walk in the Park Day, National Walk to Work Day and Take Your Pants for a Walk Day. (Yes, that last one is for real…interesting, huh?) Why not take advantage of this Walk Around Things Day?

Leave a Reply

