Dressing Up a Plain Cake

My  husband is on the “Fun” committee at work, and he’s also in charge of the birthdays for his section. They put him in charge of birthdays because they figured I would make birthday treats for everyone…and for the most part, I do!

The lovely lady who’s birthday is today decided she didn’t care what kind of cake it was, any kind was fine. My kinda woman! And since we’re in the middle of moving, and I’m also editing wedding pictures right now, I decided that this one would be celebrated with the boxed yellow cake and chocolate icing I already had in my pantry. (Even though I have a TON of cakes pinned on my Sweet Treats board on Pinterest that would be fantastic to try out right now…I’m trying to be realistic about my time and commitments for the next few weeks. So boxed cake it was.

Every time I think of a box cake, I think of that episode of The Next Great Baker (do you ever watch that? It’s on TLC, Buddy the Cake Boss does it – awesome!) where one of the contestants uses a box cake mix in his assignment, and when Buddy tastes it, he knows it’s a box cake immediately! Horrors!

So I wanted to dress up MY box cake a little, show I had put SOME kind of effort into it, and make it look unique! And I really wish I knew where I got the idea for this, but I don’t have a link – I saw it somewhere online, I’m sure.

Here’s the regular, plain ol’ yellow cake with chocolate frosting. I tried to get the frosting as smooth as possible with a butter knife to make the process I was about to undertake easier.

4

Nothing fancy! So I bought something else…

5

See where I’m going with this?

I started like this…

6

…and ended up like THIS!

7

Looks pretty cool, huh?

8

I liked how it turned out! Super simple, just a little time-consuming, but not too bad. And now it looks “fancy”! I’m no Cake Boss, but still! My hubby proclaimed it “awesome”, so that’s good enough for me!

What do YOU do to dress up a box cake?

10 thoughts on “Dressing Up a Plain Cake

  1. Hello, Neat post. There is an issue with your site in internet exrpoler, could test this? IE nonetheless is the marketplace chief and a huge portion of folks will leave out your great writing due to this problem.

Leave a Reply

