Fabulous Find! (Yes, another one!)

We’re moving from a home that is all carpet (other than the bathroom and the kitchen) into a home that only has carpet in three closets. While this will be FANTASTIC for our allergies, there is a lot of white tile and light-colored wood covering these floors…and we have a very black kitty cat. And let’s face it, I’m very anal when it comes to keeping things clean.

I was really wondering what I should do as far as a tool to clean these floors with! Just use a broom and sweep everything all the time? Then follow up often with a good ol’ mop? That would take forever! What about a steam cleaner? But I still need to get the dirt up first! Or could I just use the regular vacuum I already have? I used to have a Swiffer SweeperVac and I really loved it, but the battery was horrible, which translated into horrible suction, and I eventually got rid of it. But I really liked the size of it – maybe something like that?

After doing a bit of research, I finally came across something I thought might work: a 3-in-1 Vac from Bissell. The good thing was, it was only $20 at Walmart, so I figured, even if it’s horrible, I’ve only wasted $20…instead of investing a few hundred for something that I might not like. And it’s a Bissell – it’s bound to work at least KINDA good, right?

So I picked this little baby up from Walmart and headed to our new house to give it a good cleaning before we started moving things in.

38B1

It is NOT cordless, but the cord is 16 feet long, so I figured that would be fine for room-to-room clean-up, and then I wouldn’t have to worry about the battery running out, either.

It was super easy to assembly, and comes with a pre-motor filter and a filter for dirt.

Filters

As you can see, they are both cheap to re-order through Bissell’s site, or purchase at Walmart. OH! And when you visit Bissell’s site for the first time, if you give them your email address for updates, they’ll send you a 10% off coupon! I used mine to order more filters!

The site itself is a great one to visit – full of information, and even great quotes, like, “Knowing I can get dirt out makes me feel better about letting life in.” (Cathy Bissell)

The 3-in-1 does three things, obviously! It vacuums upright, it works as a dust-buster and even works with a small attachment.

38B1_GF1

38B1_GF3(2)

38B1_GF5

I wouldn’t recommend it for carpet work, really, but on tile and wood floors, it works like a DREAM!!! I used it for about 2 hours straight, and it didn’t even falter! Great suction, good length on the cord, and the smaller attachment is perfect! Now if only the cat would let me vacuum HER with it, right?

All in all, I think it’s a fantastic $20 investment! If you’re looking for something along the same lines, definitely check it out! It solved my problem of what to do for quick-cleanups on these floors!

I followed the vacuuming on the tile up with a good mopping from your normal mop and bucket combo (actually, my husband did that for me!) and the floors were perfect! On the wood I used a Swiffer Wet after the loose dirt was up, and those are bright and shiny now, too! I’m not sure if that’s my permanent solution as far as getting the non-vacuumable dirt up or not. Any suggestions?

I’m taking off work tomorrow to get things all set for the move, and then we move the big stuff and spend our first night in our new home on Saturday! So I won’t blog tomorrow, as I’ll be a little tied up with moving stuff – but I hope everyone has a fantastic weekend, and check back in with me on Monday!

6 thoughts on “Fabulous Find! (Yes, another one!)

  1. Appreciating the persistence you put into your blog and in depth information you offer.
    It’s nice to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the
    same outdated rehashed information. Excellent read!
    I’ve saved your site and I’m including your RSS feeds
    to my Google account.

  2. Howdy! This is kind of off topic but I need some help
    from an established blog. Is it difficult to set up your own blog?

    I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick. I’m thinking about
    making my own but I’m not sure where to start. Do you have any ideas or suggestions? Thanks

Leave a Reply

