Hello, New Neighbors!

Sometimes I really think I was born in the wrong time period. I would be totally comfy as one of those fabulous 1950’s housewives, I really would! But then I start thinking and I realize I would probably miss all my technology. And I certainly wouldn’t be able to have this blog!

Things that made me think this way: new neighbors. We had met three of our new neighbors, and had waved to several others, but that was about it. We were pretty close to our neighbors at our other place, and we’re the type of people who just like to know our neighbors. We figure, if you’ve got to leave near people, you might as well have a good relationship with them, right?

Yes, I am TOTALLY the woman who is going to bake you a pie and introduce herself to you when you move into the neighborhood. (I’m actually planning on that right now, as there are new folks moving in catty-cornered from us now.) But I wasn’t sure if it would work the other way around or not.

“Hi, we’re the people who just moved in. Nice to meet you. Please have some cookies on us.”

So I went on Pinterest. (Surprise surprise, right?)

And I found these cool “Hello New Neighbor” tags that were pinned from Embellish. I thought they would work – what do you think?

55151462-new-neighbors-tag

I added our address to the dotted line (just in case we had to leave a few for those who didn’t answer, they would know where they came from!), and placed our names above that. Then I baked some chocolate-chip cookies (everybody loves those, right?), packaged them up (I keep these bags and lots of ribbon on-hand for these types of things) and voila!

Baggie

Since we live on the corner, we are literally surrounded, so I needed a few!

Basket

We took them out when we got home from work yesterday!

Still didn’t meet the folks who live right next door to us, but we left them one at their front door!

We had to leave several others, but were able to meet a sweet retired couple and another middle-aged couple, and say hello to one of the neighbors we had previously met. The middle-aged couple even responded with a jar of home-made strawberry jam, which my husband tested when we got home, and proclaimed he would go back over there any time if it meant we could get more jam! Ha!

All in all, I think it went over well. We’ve got some great folks near us, and I’m excited to still meet the ones we missed. Once the newbies (I LOVE that we were only the newbies for about 2 weeks!!!) get settled, I’ll take them a treat.

Oh, and after dinner we took a stroll around the subdivision and saw a few more people out and about. Everyone is very friendly, which is fantastic!

Do you know YOUR neighbors? Why or why not?

3 thoughts on “Hello, New Neighbors!

Leave a Reply

