Our Story

You may have noticed that I didn’t blog yesterday. Yesterday was our anniversary, so we spent the whole day together! We reminisced a lot yesterday, so I thought I would take today and share “our story” with you all!

Jerrod was friends with my sister before he and I were friends, so for the longest time, I knew him as “her” friend. Seemed nice enough. Eventually, we were singing in the choir together at church, so I got to know him a little bit better then. Still seemed nice enough.

The turning point came when he did an internship at the office I managed, and we ended up spending a bit more time together. (He told me later that the whole reason he wanted that internship was so he could be around me…crazy guy!) I realized he actually wanted something more than friendship from me when he gave me a $150 gift certificate to a day spa for my birthday. Yeah, that got my attention, and totally freaked me out, I don’t mind saying!

After much deliberation on this new development, I finally decided to accept the gift card (hey, I was gonna give it back!) and I told him I would date him on a trial basis. He could not believe I was making him wait, but he waited, and quite patiently, I must add. Although he was pretty happy when I finally told him okay!

We had dated for just over a year, and I was sure I would marry him, but I really wasn’t in that much of a hurry to do so. See, I’m a bit independent (he could tell you ALL about that!) and I wanted to make sure I was good and ready to be married.

I went on a trip with some dear friends to help them with their sweet babies, and apparently, while I was gone, he had gone to my parents and asked if he could marry me. The day after I returned home, he made plans to come pick me up – only he was an hour late and didn’t return any calls or texts I sent him. He is NEVER late, so I just knew something horrible had happened to him. Needless to say, when he finally arrived, I was pretty mad at him. He made sure I was good and worked up and then dropped to his knee and asked me to marry him…all the while my sweet mom was flashing away on her camera! I was SO floored…but said yes, of course!

We got married about 6 months later in a very small ceremony (23 people) on the pier on Clearwater Beach, Florida (where we had our first date). Then we flew to Aruba and spent 8 glorious days there, and had a big party for all of our friends and family to celebrate with us when we returned.

I have to say, I cannot think of a more perfect man (for me) to be married to. It’s like God knew what He was doing! HA! (Just kidding, of COURSE He did!) He puts God first, he works so hard for us, he is SO loving and patient with me, and he makes me laugh like no one else can! And he humors all my little quirks and whims and ideas…and y’all have NO idea how many of those there are! I am SO blessed!

531245_10150990453948877_1823139702_n

What’s YOUR story? I would love to hear it!

6 thoughts on “Our Story

Leave a Reply

