Biscuits & Gravy Casserole

I’ve had to learn to cook some new things since I got married. It’s a good thing that I’ll try just about anything, right?

We had quite the blend of food growing up at my house. My mom was a military kid, so her family moved around a lot, and she ended up loving seafood and Chinese. My dad was raised in Florida from the time he was 5, so he loved a few southern dishes, but his favorite was Italian, and he also was a fan of your basic meat-and-potatoes fare. That made for quite the variety at our house!

Now, my husband’s family are ALL southern. And they eat like it, too! I had never heard of putting gravy on your cantaloupe, or CHOCOLATE gravy, for that matter! Or drinking buttermilk with corn bread?! WHAT?!?!

I was familiar with the general biscuits and gravy dish, though, but recently I found a recipe that my husband LOVES. It’s a Biscuits & Gravy Casserole. Easy peasy, yummy, and sure to become a family favorite of yours, too! I found this recipe via Pinterest (surprise surprise surprise!) HERE, and I discovered that this particular recipe was created by the lovely Kelley over at Miss Information HERE. Definitely take time to go check her blog out – she’s got TONS of fantastic recipes! But I put my own spin on this one, so…

…let’s dig in!

Biscuits & Gravy Casserole

1 pound mild Jennie-O turkey sausage
1 2.64-oz. McCormick Sausage Flavor Country Gravy Mix
1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
3 eggs
1/2 cup milk
1 pint heavy cream
Salt & pepper to taste
1 teaspoon minced onion
1 can (16.3 oz.) Bisquick Bakery butter flavored biscuits
8 slices turkey bacon

Take a 9×13 pan and spray it with non-stick cooking spray. Then cut the biscuits into 1″ pieces…

Biscuits

…and line bottom of pan.

Brown the sausage…

Sausage

…and scatter over biscuits. Sprinkle with cheese.

Almost

Whisk eggs, milk and cream together and pour it over the pan contents. Sprinkle with salt, pepper and minced onion.

Make gravy mix per package directions… (yes, cook it all the way to the end, just like you’re going to put it over biscuits)

Gravy

…and spoon over the pan contents. It looks something like this:

photo(2)

Refrigerate overnight.

Fry and crumble your bacon and keep it overnight, as well. (Or you can do that in the morning, if you like – my preference is to get up in the morning and only have to pop breakfast in the oven, especially when we have company!)

The next morning, preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Pop the casserole in straight from the fridge, uncovered. Cook for one hour and 5 minutes. (Keep an eye on it until it’s done to your liking – I like to see the top a bit browned!)

photo(1)

And there you go!

Sprinkle your crumbled bacon on top for the perfect finish.

photo(3)

Now I’m hungry all over again! What is your best southern recipe?

271 thoughts on “Biscuits & Gravy Casserole

  1. YIKES!! I didn’t cook the gravy first so when I finally saw the comment I rushed another batch and threw it on top. So far its looking good. Fingers crossed!

  2. This is delicious! I never leave it over night just because we cook it for dinner or breakfast. I don’t use cream it is to rich for our stomach’s. (With sausage & bacon) I use more eggs & milk (6 eggs & 1/2 milk) works great. I also add more cheese. I love the pictures & presentation of your rescipe. Keep posting!

  3. The packaged gravy…..yes recipe should definitely say, prepare gravy as directed, not mix the gravy as directed. The picture as well strongly implies you only have to mix and pour! Ugh hope it turns out, if not wasted money and no lunch 😦

  4. First time making this…. hope it turns out right. I quadupled the recipe and used 1/2 and 1/2 instead of cream. And i didnt do overnight bc its for dinner tonight. Fingers crossed!!!

  5. Pingback: Top 10 Casserole Recipes | foodgio

  6. I made this today (put together in am and cooked tonight.) Eggs all curdled and slimy, biscuits did not cook. I measured (which I don’t usually do) and it just looks gross. Smells wonderful, but what did I do???

  7. This is my third time making it I never use onion tho and this my 1st time making it with cream hope it turns out great

  8. how many men will this feed? I’m making this for the crew coming over tomorrow morning to help pour concrete!!!!

  9. Oh! My gosh how yummy it looks. Being from the south you know it has tl be good.Yes I will try it.Eunice Hamilton

  10. In my fridge right now. I also didn’t realize the gravy needed to be cooked, I just mixed with water. Wondering if it will still turn out ok?

  11. This is also a family favorite of our!!! In fact I have a pan ready to go in the fridge tonight for father’s day tomorrow!! Thanks for sharing 😋

Leave a Reply

