Over the Weekend

d6505d0bd190f5036b168ae415543052

I told my husband last night, I feel like I had the perfect balance this past weekend. HA! Let’s see if it ever happens again, right?

Accomplished on Friday:

  • Family dinner
  • Grocery shopping
  • Meal planning for the week

Accomplished on Saturday:

  • Laundry
  • Cleaned the entire house
  • Attended a wedding
  • Did a little car shopping (UGH!)
  • Cooked dinner
  • Prepped items for church delivery

Accomplished on Sunday:

  • Laundry (can anyone tell me why two people create SO MUCH laundry?!)
  • Choir and church
  • Did some more car shopping (still UGH!)
  • Took a nap
  • Baked a Reese’s Cake for my hubby to take to work for his team on Monday
  • Visited with sweet friends who were in town

As I look at it, it doesn’t seem like much, but I honestly didn’t relax a lot…except for the nap on Sunday!

Oh, and let me just say that I discovered that the a fore-mentioned stove I was worried about? Yeah, the brand new one that I couldn’t get to boil water? Well, it definitely works!

Part of the cake I was making for my husband’s team was a peanut butter chocolate filling, which required hot whipping cream poured over chopped semi-sweet chocolate pieces, mixed until creamy with peanut butter and Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups added. YUM, huh?

Well, I poured the ICE COLD cream into the pot on the stove, turned the burner on high (the recipe called for it to be “just boiling”) and stepped back from the stove. From where I was standing, a plant on the back porch caught my eye, and I remember that the pot had been full of water from all the rain, and it really needed to be dumped out. I went out the back door, picked up the pot, went out the screen door and dumped out the water. As I was coming back in, my husband met me, frantically gesturing (he was on the phone) that my pot was boiling over.

WHAT?! I ran back into the kitchen, and, sure enough, the cream was all over the glass-top stove (all nice and hot and bubbly-brown) the pot was almost empty, and the smell was AWFUL. Thank goodness I had extra cream still in the fridge.

Anyhoo, got some great use out of my Heavy Duty Glass Cook Top Cleaner from Weiman – LOVE that stuff. And I have further confirmation that the stove does, indeed, work.

To top it off, I decided to light some candles afterwards to vanquish the burnt-milk smell…and set my fingernail on fire. **SIGH**

In spite of all that, I still felt like it was a good weekend, and lots was accomplished!

What did YOU do this weekend?

4 thoughts on “Over the Weekend

  1. I was cooking oatmeal in milk once and walked away from the stove for a minute while waiting for the milk to boil….I ruined my pot! And it took some cleaning to get the stove clean again too!

  2. Looks like you accomplished A LOT to me. I have lost count on how many times I have scorched a pan, the worst was when I forgot I was making beans from scratch, it took several days before the house stopped smelling like burnt beans. The dessert does sound delicious though!

Leave a Reply

