Organize Your Desktop…with a Background Image?

I always thought my desktop was pretty organized. If I’m in the middle of working on a project, it gets a little full of folders and files, but I always group them together for easy locating, and as soon as I’ve completed them, they get moved to the appropriate file – either on my computer or on my portable hard drive. On top of that, I always keep a nice background image up for inspiration, almost always from interfacelift. That’s organized, right?

Until I saw THIS!

DOWNLOAD FILE - Organized Desktop Wallpaper _ Pretty Fluffy for IHeart Organizing

Can you see it? (Might be a little hard here, but once it’s your desktop background, there are no issues! Just FYI, the blue is “Read”, purple is “File”, green is “Work” and pink is “Misc”.

Now THAT’S pretty neat! I downloaded it quickly, and here’s what my desktop looks like now:

Screen Shot 2013-05-28 at 9.00.54 PM

Oh my goodness, I LOVE it!!! A place for everything and everything in its place!

I was so excited to show my husband when he came home – the whole “look what I did!” kinda thing, right? His response? “Please tell me you only did that to your username and not mine, too.”

**SIGH** “Of course I only did mine, I wouldn’t know what in the world to do with the mess you’ve got going on on YOUR desktop!”

“Good. Well, then, I think it looks nice!”

**SIGH** I guess the pink and purple were just too much for him, huh?

I, on the other hand, was quite thrilled with it!

I saw this over at one of my favorite spots, iHeartOrganizing. Jen always has great posts and fantastic printables, but this particular image came via her from Serena at Pretty Fluffy. I’ve never visited Pretty Fluffy before, but I quite enjoyed it, and will be going back often to check in on Life, Style and Fluffy Dogs! You should, too!

In this particular iHeartOrganizing Post, files are also organized! You’ve got to drop over and see the before and after – it’s like night and day! And you can also download one of these computer backgrounds there, too…FREE! CLICK HERE!

How do you keep YOUR desktop organized? Or do you?

14 thoughts on “Organize Your Desktop…with a Background Image?

  1. It looks nice! Not sure it would work for me since I don’t think I have seen my desktop in months. I always have too many windows open and open all my programs from the dock or finder….

  2. I LOVE THIS!! I’m gonna try and create one customized for myself. Just yesterday, I “cleaned” up my desktop by dropping all the files into folders in my documents folder. Today, on my task list was to put all the Photoshop, Illustrator, and AutoCad templates that I always use back on my desktop. Now, I’m going to do something like this so I can be even more organized!!

    Thanks for sharing it!

    Whitney
    The Decor Chronicles

  3. Fabulous idea! I think I need to get this soon, my desktop gets messy and then everything is thrown into a “to sort” folderโ€ฆ that rarely gets sorted! Ugh! This might help! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

