Over the Weekend

Weekend_01

There’s not a whole lot to report back for what I accomplished over this past week. Unusual, you say? Yes. Why, you ask? Well, once a month I simply schedule “A Day of Nothing” in my home. I HIGHLY recommend this. Let me elaborate.

One of these days I’ll do a post on “A Day in the Life of Kristen”, but until then, just know that I have a lot going on. Too much going on. And, I mean, we don’t even have any kids yet – I can’t even imagine what I’ll do when that happens. (No, I can imagine, I’ll be saying “NO” a lot, ha!)

So when you fly around 24/7 doing everything and anything, and dragging your poor husband along for the ride, sometimes you just need…NOTHING.

Now, let me clarify: I used to have “A Day of Nothing” once a month on a regular basis. And then we moved, and we haven’t had that since then. However, since we have house guests coming for the holiday weekend, I KNEW I needed to relax a bit and gear up for a busy weekend. And my husband gladly agreed to participate, as well. So, when I get to Saturday below, you’ll see why the bullet points are what they are!

Accomplished on Friday:

  • Cleaned the entire house
  • Did the grocery shopping for the week

Accomplished on Saturday:

  • Slept until 9:30 a.m. (WHAT?! I can’t remember the last time I slept that late!!!)
  • Ate cereal for breakfast (i.e. no cooking)
  • Sat on the couch and played around with social media
  • Ate sandwiches for lunch (i.e. still no cooking)
  • Sat on the couch and browsed blogs
  • Got a little bored…so I washed the bedding from the master bedroom, baked a couple of potatoes and threw together some green beans and seasoning (while my hubby put some steaks on the grill)
  • Sat on the couch and pondered everything I did NOT get done…and was totally okay with it
  • Painted my toenails and blew out and barrel-curled my hair (gotta have some girl time in there, right?)

Accomplished on Sunday:

  • Sunday School, choir and church
  • Took a nap
  • Laundry
  • Cooked some Baked Penne for dinner
  • Did a little bit of “week-planning”

So there you have it! Our next “Day of Nothing” will either be on July 20 or 27. You should join us!

13 thoughts on “Over the Weekend

  1. We have days of doing nothing with our daughter. It normally ends up being a day that consists of a movie, an art project, a board game, a cooking project and an outside game or activity. We just don’t plan anything else that day, and do what we feel like doing as a family at our home. They are always my favorite days!

  2. Pingback: On the Road in July | The Road to Domestication

Leave a Reply

