Stubb’s Review & GIVEAWAY!

Everybody loves BBQ, right? Especially this time of the year! One of our favorite things to do (especially over the weekend) is get a few choice cuts from the store and GRILL! Since BBQ is my hubby’s favorite, we tend to lean in that direction a lot. We’ve used a variety of products, however, up until a few weeks ago, I had never even heard of Stubb’s.

Stubb’s is a company out of Texas, started in 1968 as the legendary Stubb’s Bar-B-Q restaurant by C.B. Stubblefield…”Stubb” for short! Today, Stubb’s not only includes the restaurant (now located in Austin, Texas) but also 6 sauces, 4 marinades, 2 injectable marinades, 5 rubs, a moppinโ€™ sauce and a wing sauce, all of which you can find in your local grocery store!

stubb-holding-bottles2

But the best thing about Stubb’s (as far as I’m concerned) is that it’s GLUTEN-FREE!

For anyone who doesn’t know, I was diagnosed with Celiac’s Disease when I was 18 years old, and as long as I stick to a gluten-free diet, I’m good and healthy. But things like sauces (yes, BBQ sauces included) are always tricky. I have to be REALLY careful, that’s for sure.

So I was thrilled to be able to try Stubb’s with no worries about side-effects!

If you’d like to learn a bit more about the quality products Stubb’s uses in their all-natural sauces, CLICK HERE so you can avoid common nutritional pitfalls on the condiment aisle!

Stubb’s sent me four tasty products to try:

  1. Steakhouse Marinade
  2. Original BBQ Sauce
  3. Steak Spice Rub
  4. Pork Spice Rub

Contents

Can I just say how beside himself my husband was when this box arrived? “So let me get this straight…they sent you this stuff so we could test it…and then you blog about it? But we get to test ALL of this stuff? THAT’S WHAT’S UP!!!” (He wasn’t as thrilled when I made him wait to eat so I could photographed his plate first…but he eventually got with the program! HA!)

First up: the Pork Spice Rub

Pork Rub

Pork chops are a favorite around our house, cooked a variety of ways, but I’ve never done them with a rub.

I purchased my favorite pork chops from Publix and added the rub, then threw them in a pan on the stove with a little bit of olive oil. I paired the final product with a Parmesan risotto and some sweet peas.

Final Chops

YUM. These packed a little bit of a punch, but not too much, and were so moist and tender – I was quite happy that I had more of this leftover – I’ll make more for sure!

Then we tried: the Original BBQ Sauce

photo

I chose chicken for this experiment, and baked it along with the sauce.

It was more sweet than tangy, but it had a REAL taste to it. I never would have thought it came out of a bottle! Great blend of ingredients!

I paired the final product with some mixed veggies and potato salad.

BBQ Chicken

Lastly: the Steak House Marinade and the Steak Rub

PicMonkey Collage

I picked up two shoulder steaks and did one with the rub and one with the marinade.

Now, I love a good marinade – and this one did NOT disappoint. I marinated overnight (there are very few cases in which I do not marinate for that long) and it was ready for the grill the next day.

I put the rub on right before grilling-time.

When they were done, we split the steaks and each took half, and I paired them with baked potatoes and green beans.

Close steak

We both enjoyed the rub steak. It picked up some of the smoky flavor from the grill, which enhanced the spices nicely and made for a great mouthful.

However, that marinated steak?! LIKE HEAVEN. I don’t typically tend to like steak, but let me tell you, this was GOOD. And my husband, who tends to drown any steak he eats with A1 sauce (nasty!) proclaimed he didn’t even need any A1, it was so awesome without it! I mean, MELT IN YOUR MOUTH GOOD.

As far as I’m concerned, Stubb’s has won me over for keeps. Quality products that I don’t have to stop and ogle the label on. And it keeps the hubs happy, too.

So NOW, for the real fun! Stubb’s is doing a GIVEAWAY! Wohoo!!!

Just click here –> a Rafflecopter giveaway <– and follow the instructions to enter! The giveaway is live now, and, since we’re coming up on a holiday, I’m going to leave it up for an entire week! What’s the prize? THREE COUPONS for FREE STUBB’S PRODUCTS at your local store! Nothing like being able to pick your prize, eh?!

Thanks to the fine folks at Stubb’s for this fun contest – the products they provided, the opinion is my own. For more information on all they have to offer, visit their website HERE!

And now, I’m taking a few days off for the July 4th festivities! I’ll see you back here on Monday!

15 thoughts on “Stubb’s Review & GIVEAWAY!

  1. Oh my goodness just looking at the food makes me not want to wait to win. We’ve never tried them before and have always used another brand but the next time we go back to the commissary I’m going to ask hubby to get it to try. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. OMG! The first time I tried this, I couldn’t believe it came from a bottle. I made chicken with their original sauce. Can I just say…no leftovers in my house. Your post just made me hungry! Thanks for the awesome post!!

  3. Pingback: On the Road in July | The Road to Domestication

Leave a Reply

