New Printable!

Happy Tuesday, all!

Over the past few weeks, I’ve been humming an old tune. I mean, EVERY DAY I’ve been humming it. I love it, and, as I normally do when something I love gets all up in my head like this, I go on Pinterest and see if I can find a matching printable. (That’s actually how I’ve found some great wall art for our home!)

I could find no printable of this particular hymn. So I decided to make one myself. Here it is!

Precious Lord Printable

CLICK HERE to download it for yourself!

Something you may not know about me: I sing. I first became interested in singing in Junior High School, then I sang in choirs and traveling groups in high school and in college, and currently my hubby and I sing in the choir and on the worship team at our church. I’ve even worked in the recording studio…twice. Ha! It’s not something I ever expect to grow famous from (in fact, I don’t WANT any notoriety from it), but it’s something we enjoy doing together (my hubby has an AMAZING voice!!!) and I like that, on most days, our home is filled with music!

So when it comes to songs, especially ones that come to mean something to me, I like to know where they came from. So I looked up the story on “Precious Lord, Take My Hand.” And here’s what I found…the words of Reverend Dorsey himself:

“This song is very dear to me. I left my home one morning with another fellow driving to St. Louis to sing in a revival at a Baptist Church. My wife was going to become a mother in a few days. We got 24 miles outside of Chicago, and I discovered I had left my briefcase with all my music in it. I turned around, drove back to Chicago and went home. My wife was sleeping, and I didn’t disturb her. When I got back in the car, the other fellow said he had changed his mind and decided not to go. As it was, Providence was trying to tell me not to go away. But I went on to St. Louis, anyway. Next night, I was working in a revival, and I received a telegram: ‘Your wife just died. Come home.’ Some fellows volunteered to drive me to Chicago, and when I got home the next day, I had the body moved. I had a bouncing baby boy. But that night, the baby died. That was double trouble. I felt like going back on God. He had mistreated me, I felt. About a week later, after we had put the baby and the wife away in the same casket, I was sitting with the the late Theodore Fry, just drowsing. Just like water dropping from the crevice of a rock, the words dropped into the music, ‘Take My Hand, Precious Lord.'” (Discovered at Country Music Treasures)

WOW. Such a beautiful song came from such sorrow. Amazing.

The printable is only part of the song. I believe it’s the chorus, in fact. But if you’ve never seen the entire song…here it is:

Precious Lord, take my hand, lead me on, let me stand
I am tired, I am weak, I am ‘lone
Through the storm, through the night, lead me on to the light
Take my hand, precious Lord, lead me home.

When my way grows drear, precious Lord, linger near
When my life is almost gone
Hear my cry, hear my call, hold my hand lest I fall
Take my hand, precious Lord, lead me home.

When the darkness appears and the night draws near
And the day is past and gone
At the river I stand, guide my feet, hold my hand
Take my hand, precious Lord, lead me home.

And here is Reverend Dorsey:

ThomasDorsey_wide-a9561e1bf57ff2f86c8a610170b38ba044f3f7b4-s6-c30

I also didn’t know that this particular hymn was Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.’s favorite song!

Beautiful things come from terrible tragedies. If you are tired, and weak, and alone…just reach out. He’ll lead you home!

17 thoughts on “New Printable!

  1. Pingback: On the Road in July | The Road to Domestication

Leave a Reply

