Planner Dilemma Solved! (Hopefully…)

You may remember when I posted a little while back about the dilemma I was having with digital vs. written planning. If not CLICK HERE and you can read about it!

Well, I finally made a decision: back to an actual write-in-this planner.

Cover

This is a hard-cover At-A-Glance Planner, measuring 8.5 inches long, 5.25 inches wide and is just over a half an inch wide. The cover is a soft leather, in a lovely shade of pink. It fits easily into my purse, which is exactly what I needed.

I placed this label inside the front cover for extra safety measures!

Label

Hopefully no one ever needs to use it!

The front holds 2013-2015 calendars like this…

Calendar

…and a list of holidays.

Holidays

Each month starts like this…

Regular

…and finishes like this.

Pages

I’m really trying to keep it simple. Normally I’m a pretty big fan of color-coding, Post-It Note sticking, etc. But I’m gonna try to contain myself this time, ha! I HAVE thought about getting some washi tape and distinguishing events with that, though!

il_fullxfull.309802874

Whatcha think?

There’s also a great event-planning section in the back…

Events

…as well as a nifty lil’ pocket.

Pocket

So far, so good. (Although in trying to book a dinner date with a friend earlier this week, my heart WAS a little sad as she broke out her iPhone calendar, and I pulled this one out.) Perhaps I’ll find something digital that works for me in the future, but until then, this works. After all, I just need to be able to quickly see what’s going on, and have that knowledge with me all the time. (And it works for that! My husband and I were looking at it last night and decided we have FAR too much stuff going on…)

Thanks to everyone who gave input and help me make a decision!

25 thoughts on “Planner Dilemma Solved! (Hopefully…)

  1. I have tried so many planners over the year, computer based and paper based. I always seem to go back to my standby of a random notebook and my head. One day my memory won’t be as good as it is now….not sure where I’ll be then 🙂

  2. I’ve looked at SO MANY different planners over the years. I’ve only ever had two that worked for me, and of the two only ONE really stands out, and it’s the one I’m currently using and also currently cannot find in stores! *gasp* I hope I find another soon!

    I currently use Day-Timer FamilyPlus “Weekly/Monthly” Planner. It runs from July 12 to Dec 13. (I love that it has such a long time frame). Every week has a section for meal planning and little sections for errands and other to do items as well as your daily events for the week. The days are much smaller than what you have in your planner, but they seem to work for me. (They didn’t used to!) I think as I get older and have less of the school work and student life to keep track of and more “regular” life as I call it, this planner seems to work better for me.

    It’s always wonderful when we can finally start fine tuning the qualities we like in our planners. Although, like you, I sometimes get a little obsessive with color coding and all that 😉

    Anyway, congrats on making your decision for the written planner and picking one!!

  3. Nice Planner! I am right now at the same kind of decision, should I have a digital or a hard-cover garden journal. Decisions, decisions. Truth is I already have both, but witch one should I use. Glad you found your way.

  4. I love your label you put in there! I love electronic things, but I always seem to find myself writing it all down on paper anyway. There’s just something about it that I can’t put my finger on. I need to just get a planner like this instead of trying to make it work with my electronic planners and then writing my to-dos and such on scrap pieces of paper that invariably end up wadded up and smeared with jelly at the bottom of my bag. You’ve inspired me to go hunting.

  5. Although I’m not near as busy as you, I definitely need a planner. I use my old fashioned type calendar. Old habits don’t die easily. 🙂

  6. there’s just something about being able to hold a book and turn the pages… good luck with your new planner. The washi tape looks really cool, I’m just sayin’. Congrats on your Award nomination from BeeTree Studios! 🙂

  7. Nice planner!! I’m always looking at planners and love the paper ones, though having it on my phone is so much more convenient! Of course… My real problem is actually using it! Ha.

  8. I have to agree there is something about holding a book lol I use to use a book and my google calendar on my computer and phone…I find myself using google more and more now a days, but miss having the book in my hand. I might have to grab me one to write speical things in or something lol.

  9. Pingback: On the Road in July | The Road to Domestication

Leave a Reply

