Over the Weekend

5a9730eef06385c84d395495f3ce0671

Well, I’m happy today that I actually feel like I HAD a weekend! (That doesn’t happen often, folks! It’s definitely cause for celebration!)

Accomplished on Friday:

  • Grocery Shopping
  • Date night ๐Ÿ™‚

Accomplished on Saturday:

  • A big, fat, NOTHING. (Well, I DID cook dinner…ahem…Breakfast for Dinner…so I guess that’s something…but, other than that…nope, NOTHING.) But that was kind of the idea, since Saturday was our monthly “Day of Nothing”. And I didn’t even know this, but it was officially “Lazy Day”. Yep, it’s a “holiday”, I promise! How coordinated are we?! Ha! As we sat on the couch, my husband looked at me and said, “You know what, it’s pretty sad that we have to “schedule” a day to rest.” But seriously, that’s our life right now, folks. I encourage all of you to do the same! You’ll feel MUCH better, I promise!

Accomplished on Sunday:

  • Choir (well, kind of – I actually got pulled from the choir loft and set upstairs to run the projection when the team wound up short-handed! So a little bit of a different view – but still fun!) and church
  • Sunday afternoon nap (LOVE THOSE!)
  • Laundry
  • Dinner with my hubby and mother-in-law
  • A little dreaming and planning at Home Depot
  • Freak-out and investigation following the fact of me noticing my blog views were up almost three times the amount from Saturday to Sunday. WHAT?! What’s this?!

We are gearing up to redo the landscaping at the front of our home (which my hubby is much more excited about than I am. Hey, it’s HOT here in Florida! I would much rather be inside, preparing fresh lemonade and iced tea and serving him and some of his friends while THEY’RE doing all the work.) His perspective says: “If you’re not out there doing it with me, you’re gonna come outside in the middle of it and I’m gonna have to stop and re-do everything to your liking. I’m not doing all that. You’re gonna help.”

Okay, okay. Point made. A valid one, at that. This should be…fun…right? (Or so I’m telling myself.) If anyone has any favorite plants that do well in the hot sun for the majority of the day, do let me know!

I guess that’s about it – what did YOU do over the weekend?

Oh, and don’t forget! The Van’s Natural Foods giveaway is still going on RIGHT NOW! So CLICK HERE to enter!

18 thoughts on “Over the Weekend

  1. I am so proud of you! Congratulations on having a fulfilling weekend. I’d prefer Lowes to your Home Depot though…LOL! My weekend was good. For once the family was home and not separated into 20 directions. Daughter and Dad washed the trucks while me and the boys made pizza for everybody. We tended to the garden, chilled out, and watched movies. It was pretty cool to settle down together.

    • HA! Well, I have a Lowe’s right down the road from my work, and a Home Depot right down the road from my house…so I do both ๐Ÿ™‚ Sounds like you got lots done and still had some great family time this weekend!

  2. Sounds like an awesome weekend! I love the official “Day of Nothing”!!! What a great idea. We are going to have to implement that one. Our weekend was busy, but fun, romantic, and somewhat restful too.

    We did manage to get rid of about half our pile of free clean fill dirt…thank you craigslist… As soon as we get that out of the way it’s onto the laying of the paving stones in the side yard. Projects, they’re never ending, especially when you’re dealing with two houses! LOL ๐Ÿ™‚

    • We just got our landscaping done last year. There are a few that are the pride of my garden that I love! Copper plant (it is a big bush that is a beautiful copper color), and Crinum lilies are pretty but they can get large as well. There are so many pretty florida native plants. Stick with those and you won’t have to water them as much. We used local nurseries to get our plants. I always recommend using small businesses if you can!

  3. Well, the only thing that I know about plants is that I kill them… every time, no matter what plant it is! I’ve learned to leave plants to the “professionals” =) I’m glad you had a relaxing weekend, I REALLY need to find a way to get ahead enough to be able to do NOTHING with NO ONE around for at least one day each month! I keep sabotaging my efforts by adding more things to do to my list! HA!

  4. Congrats on that weekend you have ๐Ÿ™‚ I actually have a busy weekend.
    Saturday : We do church cleaning and choir practice
    Sunday : Church in the morning then visit outreach in the aftie ( we do bible studies with kids and teens)
    However, because it’s rainy season here I got flu ๐Ÿ™‚ I don’t mind though seeing those kids smiles is already an antidote ๐Ÿ™‚

    http://beautychaseandrandomness.blogspot.com/

  5. I love the smell of Home Depot–walking through the humid earthy nursery area and then through the sliding doors and it’s POOF! stale lumber shavings. Someone needs to make a perfume of this pronto. I shall call it Eau d’ Maison Dรฉpรดt!

Leave a Reply

