Cake Boss Wannabe

So we watched the season finale of Cake Boss last night.
cakeboss-buddy-valastro

Are you a fan? I LOVE it! I love the creativity, and that the whole family works together! My husband actually likes it too – he likes that Buddy “doesn’t take lip” and “tells it like it is!” If you’ve never seen it, check it out at http://www.tlc.com/tv-shows/cake-boss. It airs on TLC. They make amazing cake creations, with a little bit of LIFE thrown in!

Anyways, watching the season finale threw my entire focus off what I WAS going to blog on, and I started thinking about cakes instead!

Although the title of this entry is “Cake Boss Wannabe”, I really don’t want to be one at all. I like creating things in my own peaceful kitchen, thank you very much! So, in that spirit, I thought I’d share with you my top three favorite cakes to make! (Recipes included, of course!)

1. Celebration Cake

celebration-cake-37167-ss

This one gets made in the Fall a lot, but I just LOVE the Apple Chips on it!!!

Celebration Cake

2 cups all-purpose flour
2 cups granulated sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1.5 teaspoons apple pie spice
.25 teaspoon salt
2 cups coarsely shredded carrots
1 cup coarsely shredded apple
.5 cup chopped nuts
.75 cup cooking oil
4 eggs

Preheat convection oven to 325 degrees F or standard oven to 350 degrees F. Grease and lightly flour two 9×1-1/2-inch round baking pans; set aside. In a large mixing bowl combine flour, granulated sugar, baking powder, baking soda, apple pie spice, and salt. Add carrot, shredded apple, nuts, oil and eggs. Beat with an electric mixer at low speed until combined. Beat 1 minute at medium speed. Pour batter into prepared pans, spreading evenly. Bake cake layers in convection oven 25 minutes or bake in standard oven 30 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean. Let cool in pans on a wire rack for 10 minutes. Remove from pans and cool completely.Frosting1 cup whipping cream
1 8 oz. carton sour cream
2 tablespoons brown sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
.25 cup coarsely crushed apple chips
Whole apple chips (optional)
5 to 6-inch-long cinnamon sticks (optional)

In a food processor bowl place the whipping cream, sour cream, brown sugar, and vanilla. Cover and process for 2 to 2-1/2 minutes or until stiff peaks form, stopping to scrape down sides every 30 seconds. (Or, place ingredients in a large mixing bowl and beat with a hand blender or electric mixer until stiff peaks form.) To assemble cake, place 1 cake layer on a serving platter. Spread about 3/4 cup frosting on top of the first cake layer. Sprinkle the 1/4 cup crushed apple chips atop frosting. Top with second cake layer; frost top and sides of cake with remaining frosting. Decorate cake with whole apple chips and cinnamon sticks, if desired. Makes 12 servings.

Here’s what mine normally looks like (I threw some chopped nuts I had on hand on top of this one):

310960_10150343348148877_846457356_n

This is normally the cake I make when someone wants a cake, but they don’t care what I make them!

Oh, the the recipe originally came from Recipe.com HERE!

2. Pineapple Coconut Cake

exps132691_CW2235112A08_11_6b

This cake could be created in Spring, Summer or Winter! Very versatile!

Pineapple Coconut Cake

5 eggs, separated
1 can (20 ounces) crushed pineapple
1-1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2-1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1-1/4 cups sugar, divided
1/4 cup butter, melted2 teaspoons coconut extract1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Place egg whites in a large bowl; let stand at room temperature for 30 minutes. Drain pineapple, reserving 1 cup juice; set aside. In a small bowl, combine flour and baking powder. In another bowl, beat egg yolks until slightly thickened. Gradually add 1 cup sugar, beating on high speed until thick and lemon-colored. Beat in the butter, extracts and 1/2 cup reserved juice. Add dry ingredients; beat until well blended. Beat egg whites with clean beaters on medium speed until soft peaks form. Gradually add remaining sugar, 1 tablespoon at a time, beating on high until stiff peaks form. Fold into batter. Transfer to two greased and floured 9-in. round baking pans. Bake at 350° for 18-22 minutes or until cake springs back when lightly touched. Cool for 10 minutes before removing from pans to wire racks to cool completely.

Mousse

4 cups heavy whipping cream
1-1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar, divided
2 packages (8 ounces each) cream cheese, softened5 cups flaked coconut, divided

In a large bowl, beat cream until it begins to thicken. Add 1 cup confectioners’ sugar; beat until stiff peaks form. In another bowl, beat the cream cheese, pineapple and remaining confectioners’ sugar until blended; stir in 2 cups coconut. Fold in whipped cream. Cover and refrigerate for at least 1 hour. Cut each cake horizontally into two layers. Place bottom layer on a serving plate; drizzle with 2 tablespoons reserved juice. Spread with 2 cups mousse. Repeat layers twice. Top with remaining cake layer and drizzle with remaining juice. Spread remaining mousse over top and sides of cake. Press remaining coconut onto top and sides. Refrigerate for at least 1 hour before serving. Yield: 12 servings.

Here’s what mine normally looks like:

524210_10150978780393877_1047817_n

I LOVE pineapple and coconut, so it’s a good fit!

And the recipe originally came from Taste of Home HERE!

3. Just Carrot Carrot Cake

carrot cake

Everyone loves Carrot Cake, right?!

Just Carrot Carrot Cake

2 cups flour
2 cups sugar
2 tsp baking soda
2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp allspice
1 cup applesauce
1/2 cup vegetable oil
6 egg whites
3 cups peeled, grated carrots

Mix dry ingredients in mixing bowl. Add remaining ingredients and beat on medium speed for 2 minutes. Spread in 2 greased 8″ round pans. Bake at 350 degrees for 35 minutes, or until toothpick stuck in the middle comes out clean. Cool, then frost with Cream Cheese Frosting.Cream Cheese Frosting

8 oz cream cheese, softened
1/2 stick butter or margarine, softened
powdered sugar [ 2 and a half to 3 and a half cups, depending on how stiff you want your frosting to be ]
2 tsp vanilla.

Blend cream cheese and butter well. Add vanilla. Gradually add powdered sugar until desired thickness. Beat until smooth.

Here’s what mine normally looks like:

423546_10151007553538877_1830024613_n

I tend to think Carrot Cake is good ANY TIME of the year!

Recipe original from Mary Mary Quite Contrary HERE!

So, whatcha think? What is your favorite cake to make in YOUR kitchen?!

For more great recipes, check out my link-ups!

Golden Reflections Blog (Good Tastes Tuesday!)
Anyonita Nibbles (Tasty Tuesdays)

And don’t forget to enter the Van’s Natural Foods Giveaway, going on NOW!

26 thoughts on “Cake Boss Wannabe

  1. We share the same love Carrot Cake and Pineapple Coconut (minus the soggy-ness). I am by far a cake boss, more like cake toss. I’m terrible but I like making stuff from scratch. What kinda mess is that???? One day I will be brave enough to make it. I’ve got everything in my pantry, now all I need is guts.

  2. I’m coming over! Make me all 3 cakes! I love love love cake, but I agree, I wouldn’t want to be a Cake Boss. No thank you. I have made wedding cakes for some family and friends but I would never do it is a career. Bleh. Your cakes look yummy, especially the shot of the carrot cake. I’m starving. Where is my piece?

  3. Those cakes look delicious. I suck at baking cakes even the ones in the boxes that are pretty much already made for you don’t ever look right when I do them. My daughter on the other hand is a whiz at baking. Maybe she might enjoy baking one for me. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  4. All of these cakes look gorgeous (though I am definitely partial to any cake that is covered in fluffy coconut)! And yes, carrot cake is a good idea any time, anywhere 🙂 Stopping by from Tasty Tuesdays!

  5. Pingback: On the Road in August! |

  6. Do you add the crushed pineapple to the cake mix for the coconut pineapple cake or do you just use the juice from the can? Thank you.

  7. I’m fourteen and I love to bake but I like going at my own pace finished my first big cake 2 tiers four cakes and i was very happy the fondant was very easy to put on thanks to watching enough videos

Leave a Reply

