New Additions

Are you ready for today’s Back to School Blog Hop? Visit Dana over at Prudent Wisdom for today’s post on Teacher Appreciation Gifts! (That’s a good one!)

Back in June I did a post called “New Additions”. I described it like this:

As we get more and more settled in our new home, I pick up things in my free time (HA! What the heck is FREE TIME?!) and add them to our house. Thought I’d start sharing those with y’all! Maybe you’ll get some good ideas, and maybe you can give me some good ideas, too! Note: I don’t bring things into the house unless I LOVE them. I don’t see a point in being surrounded by “stuff”, much less stuff that I think is “just okay”.

I had a lot of great responses on that post (read the original one HERE) so I thought I’d do another one! (Since I’m still adding things, it seems!)

1. Master Bedroom accent

DSC_0200

Right now almost ALL of my jewelry is in that box you see. My earrings (that don’t match any other pieces specifically) are in the tiny Willow Tree dish, and that picture is one of my faves of the two of us. But…do you see anything else? Mainly…

DSC_0201

…THIS!

I first saw this in Hobby Lobby months ago, and it was $24.99. I LOVED it, and I knew it would look great in our bedroom. But I wasn’t paying that much for it! A couple weeks ago, it was marked down and on clearance for $8! Heck yeah!

Love it because…

  • Ummm…clearance!
  • It matches PERFECTLY
  • I really love how it looks like a piece of paisley! (I LOVE paisley!!!)

2. Kitchen

Notice anything?

DSC_0203

You guessed it!

DSC_0204

My fabulous birthday present! So pretty!

Love it because…

  • I’ve wanted one forever!!!
  • It matches the kitchen
  • I can’t wait for the holiday baking to come around!

Also in the kitchen…

DSC_0205

I added this candle pedestal (from Big Lots) to the top of the cabinets. I’m always adding things (as I find them) up here.

DSC_0206

Kinda mix-and-match, but I like it like that!

3. Back porch

Let me tell you about this DEAL! I walked into Home Depot looking for something totally different, and saw this set (umbrella included but not pictured) for $71 bucks!!! I kid you NOT! I was so excited – I took a pic and sent it to my hubby and he immediately agreed that he wanted it. We’d been looking for a set for a while (we want to be able to eat out on the back porch) and the costs were just ridiculous. But this…

DSC_0210

…was perfect!

Why I love it…

  • Fantastic deal
  • I was able to put it together myself!
  • Can be moved from the porch to the patio easily

4. Dining Room

You know I’ve been trying to get the dining room together (CLICK HERE FOR THAT POST!) and I think I’ve finally figured out what I’m going to do, but that’s for another post. Here is the pretty new centerpiece I decided on!

DSC_0211

Why I love it…

  • It inspired my new theme
  • The flowers match my china PERFECTLY
  • I can’t kill it

5. The Project Room

Remember, this is the room that doesn’t really have a purpose yet. So it’s kind of…multi-purpose! And we really needed this!

DSC_0212

What I love about it…

  • It was a great deal
  • It was MUCH NEEDED, so I was happy to find something that met my budget
  • It’s fantastic to be able to go in the Project Room and work out, instead of having to leave the house

6. The Office

I’ve added a few things to our office!

DSC_0213

See the bunting? My fabulous cousin designed it for me – yeah, she makes them! If you want one designed for YOU, let me know!

DSC_0214

So pretty, right?

We also added some cute salt-and-pepper shakers to my hubby’s Coca Cola collection!

DSC_0215

And I finally finished my receipt jars! (CLICK HERE FOR THE POST ON THIS PROJECT!)

DSC_0216

What I love about it…

  • It’s really coming together!
  • I really like the customized touches!
  • I feel like there’s more room to improve upon

7. The Guest Bathroom

I’ve added quite a lot to the Guest Bathroom (CLICK HERE TO SEE) but this is one of my favorites:

DSC_0217

I originally didn’t think I needed a shower curtain in here…until we had house guests on the way, and I thought, with six of them coming, it might be nice for a little extra privacy.

What I love about it…

  • It really brings the room together
  • I LOVE the color combination
  • It really feels fresh and clean

I think that’s it for now – what have YOU added to your home? I’d love to see!

16 thoughts on “New Additions

  1. Three things…1. I love all your cute little touches. 2. I have that exact same picture frame! I got it on my honeymoon. 🙂 3. What kind of elliptical do you have? I hope to get one someday when I actually have room for it but am torn about what to look for. Some of them can be so expensive but I also don’t want it to be “cheap” if that makes sense.

  2. I totally feel the same way. I have lived in my house for over two years and we have purchased ONE piece of furniture – and it’s not even new, it was a Craigslist find. (A SOLID MAPLE hutch in my kitchen, it’s in my most recent post if you want to check it out!) When we first moved into the house the Hubs and I had nothing, literally. Everything that is currently in our house are hand me down items, which is fine with me because I didn’t pay for them. We DID buy a new mattress around the same time we got the house but is that considered furniture? I just WILL NOT buy something I don’t love and I WILL NOT buy something (especially furniture) that isn’t quality. I don’t care if that means that all of my furniture purchases will come from second hand places. They just don’t make furniture like they used to. If it’s not solid wood then I don’t want it. (Now, I wouldn’t buy anything upholstered second hand – mattresses, sofas, etc.)

  3. The blue in your kitchen is so pretty! I think a kitchen has to have pretty blue things, right? 😉 My kitchen aid is white however, so I am a bit jealous of yours.

  4. Great finds! Funny I liked reading about all of the things you found, bur for me personally, I don’t have the patience for it, so I bring my friend who does and she has no problem looking for great deals! Love the blue KitchenAid Mixer!

    • Actually, purple is my favorite color, but living with a man makes you re-think a few decor choices, ha! If I could have MY way I’d have everything purple! Now, if I ever have a little girl, can you guess the color of the nursery?! 🙂

Leave a Reply

