Over the Weekend…and a South Beach Diet Update!

Labor Day Weekend copy(3)

Well, I hope everyone had a fantastic Labor Day Weekend!

A few weeks back, my husband realized that, with his new position at work, he had to be off for four consecutive days to not have files added to his queue. So he took Friday off, as well: Friday, Saturday, Sunday, Monday (Labor Day) so he had the four days off and didn’t have to come back after three with three days of files added to his workload. In the spirit of marriage, I took Friday off with him! So we actually had a four-day-weekend…which was SO nice. We’re “take a vacation once a year” people, and since we bought a house this year, we decided to forgo our vacation…and we’ve missed it! So a whole four days together was just heaven!


Accomplished on Friday:

  • Slept in
  • Grocery shopping for South Beach Diet Week 2!!!
  • Visited my parents
  • Drove down to Ellenton (about an hour from us) to shop at the outlet mall; got some great deals and ate a healthy dinner
  • Drove 30 minutes more to Anna Mara Island to watch the sun set

Accomplished on Saturday:

  • Slept in
  • Laundry
  • Edited three sets of photos
  • Went to a healthy dinner with my in-laws
  • Pinned a TON of stuff on Pinterest (seriously, go follow me if you don’t already – I’ve been busy! CLICK HERE!)

Accomplished on Sunday:

  • Sound Check, Sunday School, choir, church
  • Took a nap
  • Finally got to watch the new “The Great Gatsby”! Have you seen it yet? What did you think?
  • Pulled out all of my Fall decor to see where I would place what and what I might need (since we’re in a different house than we were last Fall!)
  • Worked on some resumes for clients

Accomplished on Monday:

So we packed a LOT into a long weekend! But it was so nice! Until getting ready for Monday last night. HA! The real world seemed to come back way earlier than I was ready for!

And for those interested in our progress so far on the South Beach Diet, I’m pleased to say that, in our first week:

I lost 8.1 pounds
My hubby lost 6 pounds

The first three days were NOT fun, because of the sugar withdrawal and the awful headaches from no caffeine. But it was better after that passed.

We’re thrilled with the results, but I’ve got to say, this is HARD WORK. I come home from working a full time job to cook dinner, then cook breakfast and lunch for the next day. (Not to mention any work I need to do for the photography business, or for the blog!) I’m really hoping that Phase 2 is a little easier, because this has pretty much zapped all of the fun I get from cooking. It’s really a bit of a chore now, and I guess that’s because I can’t experiment like I’m used to. I have to literally go by the book…and that’s not much fun at all.

I will also say that this has showed us how badly we really were eating before we started it. And we honestly didn’t think it was all that bad. We’ll be much healthier from here on out, I’m sure of it.

So that’s just our first week! We’ll see how it goes this week. Grocery shopping was definitely much easier this time around, so hopefully that’s a sign!

How was YOUR weekend? Do anything fun?

33 thoughts on “Over the Weekend…and a South Beach Diet Update!

  1. You really did pack a lot into four days! Let’s see here – Saturday we got up early and drove about three hours to my Hubs grandparents house in VA to visit with them for the day. We got back late-ish on Saturday night. Sunday we slept in and then I did some shopping with my mother and sister in law (grocery shopping) and Monday my lil sis in law came over to help me purge my house of unnecessary stuff! I can definitely say that the “nesting stage” has hit!
    I LOVE FALL but I have zero Fall decor. Womp. I’m hesitant to buy decor too, especially with a little one on the way. WOMP WOMP. I’ll figure something out! =]

    • Yes, we packed in a lot, and it sounds like you did, too! I say go for the Fall Decor!!! The baby will love all the bright colors! And you won’t feel cooped up in the house, either! When are you due?

    • Eh, I may buy a couple things. I would feel terrible if I bought something I didn’t need and wasn’t able to get something I really do need! I’m due in January. =]

  2. Spent the weekend partly enjoying the last weekend of summer with my kids, and partly anticipating whisking them off to school. Partly doing NOTHING. And partly panicking about getting lunches ready for not only them, but for the blog 🙂
    I can’t wait to see that movie.
    I will choose not to comment on the diet.

  3. You did pack a lot in for a weekend. I was lazy but we do have a new puppy so he keeps us very busy lol. Congratulations on your first week! Withdrawal is a pain but the results are worth it. I’m doing Paleo about 80% and have lost 6lbs so far. I’ve heard good things about South Beach. A coworker of mine lost almost 100lbs that way! He looks and feels awesome and he’s in his 60s! Good luck with the plan!

  4. I LOVE that you put “Slept in” as the first thing on your list everyday! Good for you! I wish I could see what things you bought to decorate…my abode could definitely use some sprucing up!

    • Bonnie, after my teenage years it took me a long time to learn how to sleep, much less sleep in LOL I’m pretty proud that I have accomplished it again! I’m working on my dining room – I will definitely show you when it’s all said and done!

  5. Lovely sounding weekend! Congrats on the diet success! Just for interest sake, have you ever checked out the book “Trim, Healthy Mama”? It’s written by two sisters who have tried just about every diet going and after much research and trial-and-error have documented this great lifestyle way to lose weight and keep it off, complete with recipes and a lot of humour. Sounds like you are doing great on this diet, but if the fun has gone out of your cooking days, you could check this book out.

  6. We thoroughly enjoyed a much needed long Labor Day weekend! Luke, Rory, and I went to a classic car show on Saturday and followed up with a BBQ at Luke’s, the International Street Fair on Sunday, and a relaxing Monday. Luke and I went for a bike ride…so fun.

    Wow, what great 1st week results on South Beach. Sounds like it takes a LOT of dedication. I think I’d be sunk without coffee… LOL

    ~Lorelai
    Life With Lorelai

  7. Great 1st week results on South Beach, congrats! Not sure if I have heard of it before. Than again I haven’t bin looking for diets. Dr. Fuhrman’s “Eat to live” is all I need. I do not follow by the letter, I eat a lot more grains, fat and animal protein then he suggests, and still it is just great, love it.

  8. Cooking for a new diet (ahem – lifestyle 🙂 ) is a chore – especially in the beginning! I’ve found that the longer I’ve been Paleo the more I’ve learned to cook and the more comfortable I am with experimenting and tweaking recipes. There really is SO much you can do – and it’s fun making unhealthy recipes – healthy!

  9. Sounds like you had a rather busy week as usual. I’ve always been interested in learning more about the South Beach Diet. I have 15lbs that refuse to disappear and I’ve tried everything it seems like. I’m going to have to take a closer look at that diet since you lost 8lbs in 1 week. Sounds like something I really need!

  10. We had a vacation weekend with just my husband and I. It was a lot of driving and sitting as we were scouting out areas to buy land. But, it was good to Be without children for the first time ever since we’ve been together.
    Your weekend sounded very productive. Don’t you love when it turns out like that?

Leave a Reply

