Over the Weekend…

37b3ca09f818c3b87acb6757392e91df

Seems like Monday gets here faster and faster, huh? Hope everyone had a great weekend! Ours was a good mix of work and fun!

Accomplished on Friday:

  • Grocery shopping
  • Stressed out in general (when I look ahead and see how much is on the horizon, if I think about it too much I can send myself into a tizzy. I must STOP this!)

Accomplished on Saturday:

  • Early morning misty photo shoot at Bok Tower Gardens. (If you are ever in Central Florida, you MUST visit this place! It’s one of mine and my hubby’s favorites, and I was so glad this couple chose this spot for their pics. Gorgeous!)
  • Baked some banana bread for other folks (even though we can’t eat it due to the South Beach Diet…what can I say, I’m a glutton for punishment!)
  • Laundry
  • Cooked dinner for our realtor (and now dear friend) and her smart-as-a-whip 6-year old, who came to see what we’ve done with the house and enjoy a meal with us. I LOVE it when you work with people and they turn into friends, don’t you?

Accomplished on Sunday:

  • Sunday School, Choir & Church
  • Lunch with friends
  • Sunday afternoon nap (pure bliss, I say!)
  • Cooked dinner, and breakfast for tomorrow, and prepped tomorrow’s lunch, too
  • Worked on the blog
  • Edited photos
  • Laundry

And for those following our progress so far on the South Beach Diet, can I just say that week 2 was NOT my favorite?!

I GAINED 1.8 pounds
My hubby lost 2 pounds

I mean, how does that even happen?! I did the exact same thing I did the week before when I LOST 8.1 pounds! I can’t even tell you how frustrated and disappointed I was when it came to the weight loss.

But on another front, my eyes have definitely been opened to just how UN-healthy we really were. I really didn’t think it was that bad, but hindsight’s always 20/20, right? So we’ve definitely decided on a few things we are NEVER going to partake in regularly again. The top two? Coke and Diet Coke. Done.

It’s also got me thinking about something else. Something called artificial sweetener. BOO, right? We know that’s bad for us, correct? But South Beach doesn’t subscribe to that at all! In fact, they encourage artificial sweeteners! I think it’s probably because it was created before the whole “artificial sweetener is poison” deal, but still.

So this next week we can add in fruit, and we’re pretty excited about it. But I’m still not thrilled with the whole artificial sweetener thing, so by the end of this week, I may be switching us to an entirely different “diet plan”.

There have been a few folks who have questioned our doing a “diet” when “You’re so young!” Can I just say that there are bigger reasons for us doing this than weight loss? Things like his family history of high cholesterol and my family history of diabetes. We don’t want to let ourselves drift in that direction at all – so now is the perfect time to get healthy!

Anyhow. I’m really hoping that this next week is less of killing myself over food prep and more encouragement as far as weight loss is concerned. Time will tell!

What did YOU do over the weekend?

51 thoughts on “Over the Weekend…

  1. You might try stevia as your sweetener again. It comes in liquid and now comes granulated in a bag at Publix and Wal-Mart called Stevia in the Raw. Dad likes it and he HATES artificial sweeteners. You can use the granulated cup for cup instead of sugar in recipes too.

  2. We became really good friends with our realtor too! She’s almost like family! =]
    Don’t get down about the weight loss/gain. Your body will fluctuate (everyone’s does!) and to get a better reading, make sure you are weighing yourself at the same. Whether that’s first thing in the morning, right before you go to bed, etc.
    And I totally feel you on the “thinking about everything you need to do and stressing yourself out”. I am definitely feeling that way at this point in my pregnancy. UGH.

  3. Best not to weigh yourself too much. Just concentrate on feeling healthier, and whether your clothes are less strained over your body. The main thing is to take care of yourselves. Isn’t it the darndest thing when men lose weight easire than women? Bear in mind that we’re built differently. Love yourself–you’re doing the right thing.

  4. Hey! Sounds like a good weekend!! I’m sorry about the gain, I’m on a fast loss journey myself and I can say anything artificial is NOT good for your body!!! It’s something I’ve tried to rid my diet of for awhile now. Eating ‘whole’ and clean has helped me out the most. Good luck!! No dieting, just changing your lifestyle will work the best and you’ll be able to maintain it too! Thank you for sharing! πŸ™‚

  5. Sounds like a very busy weekend. Don’t beat yourself up about the weight gain. It happens and I do agree with the artificial sweeteners. Heck, artificial anything is bad! I lost the most weight when I stopped eating anything with sweeteners, bread and sugar. It was better for me to ditch it altogether but what works for me doesn’t work for everybody else. Keep moving forward to determine where your niche is for your weight loss and you will get there. I hate that it’s such a struggle but anything worth having is going to take some work. You are doing great!

  6. Diets can be so frustrating sometimes, especially when your husband gets better results. But, that seems to be the typical. Men’s and women’s bodies are just designed differently. Maybe an extreme “diet plan” isn’t what you are really looking for, but rather just a healthy way of eating. You may be better off checking in with a registered nutritionist and getting some good, healthy and medically sound advise. Ask your doctor for a referral.

    ~Lorelai
    Life With Lorelai

  7. My older son was at his grandma’s so it was just me, my husband and the baby! And YIPPEE!!! We got to work on sleep training for my almost 8 month old! Haha. But it is actually going well as well as sleep training can go.
    Keep up the good work with the diet! Its always hard starting something new like that especially when the scale doesn’t reflect what you think it should. My advice? Stay off the scale! For awhile at least. πŸ™‚

  8. Your week is always so busy. Don’t worry too much about the weight gain, there may be lots of reasons why it came back, the most important thing is that you’re on a healthier path. Here’s hoping for a great week.

  9. I started using the Nutribullet last week. I could stand to lose about 70 pounds which is part of my motivation. It’s also to start eating healthier. I’m not weighing myself because I’m trying to not focus on the number. It’s about being healthier and taking better care of myself. Losing the weight is an added bonus! Not saying there is anything wrong with you tracking your weight, but I think that’s why we need to be careful about the word “diet”. It’s about changing your way of life – the eating part anyway. Don’t get discouraged. Men and women respond to changes in diet differently. Stick with it. Good idea about cutting out the coke. I don’t drink it very often, but I know it’s something I should do without completely. Hang in there!

  10. I commend you for trying to correct any unhealthy habits before they become an issue. It’s so important to look at our family histories and try to lead the best life we can to prevent issues in the future.
    As for the weight gain this week, I think you need to remember that you lost 8.1 pounds the week before, maybe it’s just your bodies way of equalizing things out. You have still lost over 6 pounds and that really is a great start. Keep up the good work, and try to ignore your husbands results. Remember this is about leading a healthier lifestyle, not a competition on who can loose the most. Besides, when the 2 of you are done, you can look at each other and smile because you both have a super hot spouse πŸ˜‰ Keep up the great work.

  11. Your weekends always sound wonderful and I enjoy living vicariously through your events. I was sick all weekend and all I did was go to my son’s bball game, but I loved doing that! Thanks for the fun posts to read!

  12. I do love it when colleagues turn into friends. How fortunate for you. My husband and I have used the same one for over twenty years. It’s nice to have professionals on your team that you can trust. Good luck on your diet! You’re inspiring me.

  13. I agree with some of the other comments. Stevia or whatever it is called where you purchase it can be bought in little pill form to take with you easily. It is very sweet so I have to break each one in half for my tea. Natural is always best for me. You really get a lot done in a day. Makes me feel lazy.

  14. You body just fluctuates with weight. You may be gaining muscle, it could be water, anything. Don’t give up and try not to get discouraged! Next week you’ll probably drop down. My body did the same thing, it’ll be okay.

    Plus, I love your chalkboard picture with the flowers, so lovely!

  15. Hey! Not sure if someone already recommended it, but I still like Splenda & they actually make a coco cola brand sweetened entirely with Splenda! I love it =) Sometimes hard to come by, but maybe give it a shot (if you don’t hate Splenda).

Leave a Reply

