Grout Cleaner Extraordinaire

Tile is NOT my favorite. If I had my way, all of our floors here at the house would be wood. (And they will be eventually!) But, for right now, we have a mixture of tile and wood. That’s it. In fact, the only carpet in our house is comprised of rugs and closets. In the long run, it’s MUCH better for our allergies, but…GROUT.

We’re not sure what exactly went on in this house before we bought it, but the neighbors tell us that the previous owners TRASHED the place…and there are definitely some spots where the grout shows it.

I researched different cleaners. I looked up ideas on Pinterest. I even priced companies to come in and clean the stuff. Because, honestly, I just didn’t want to do it. Blech.

But a few weeks ago I grabbed a pack of Mr. Clean Magic Eraser Kitchen Scrubbers at the store, for the heck of it. I had never used them before, and I thought, well, why not try them out and see what they can do! And then, I put them in the supply closet when I got home from the store…and promptly forgot about them.

Until the other day. Then I suddenly remembered them…as I looked in disgust at the grout that I still hadn’t done anything about.

Really? Could it be?

Before:

photo

Don’t judge me. I told you it was bad! (Oh, and these are all cell phone pics, so the quality isn’t fabulous – I know, I know, shame on me…)

So the instructions on the scrubbers say to wet…

photo(1)

…squeeze…

photo(2)

…and erase!

Here’s after scrubbing one groove:

photo(3)

Quite the difference, eh?

And the other groove…

photo(4)

Now, this is still wet at this point, but my goodness! And look at the scrubber!

**Please note: I DID have a special assistant supervising my efforts, so perhaps that’s why it turned out so well?**

photo(5)

You can see in the above pic the dry grout after it’s been cleaned. WOW.

Here’s the exact kind I used, and I was pretty impressed with the results.

photo(7)

This last shot with the grout a bit more dry. Not bad, huh?

photo(8)

Of course, I’m sure there are things that will do it better, but this was quick and easy and definitely made it look better than I had seen it look…EVER!

How do YOU clean YOUR grout? Thank your lucky stars if you don’t have any…

32 thoughts on “Grout Cleaner Extraordinaire

  1. I LOVE the Magic Erasers. They are seriously good for everything! I have always gotten the original kind, I’m not really sure what the differences are. I use them to scrub the tub, I use them in the kitchen, they clean shoes really well, they get marks off the walls, etc. They are seriously seriously good for everything! You can get dollar store versions of these erasers too but they just aren’t the same to me. Mr. Clean gets it done!

  2. Understand your pain, I am just so thankful we do not have tiles at our house right now. But I have had my portion of tile floors in previous places we lived. Thank you for the tip!

  3. Whoever pitched the idea of the Magic Eraser was tired of their spouse complaining. LOL! I don’t have tile floors but smiley faces disappear after they have made their debut on the walls. Active boys, gotta love’m.

  4. Excellent!!! I’m glad you discovered Magic Erasers!! As clean and tidy as you are, I can’t believe you are just now discovering them. They will even take permanent marker off a white counter top!!
    Have fun!

  5. I had to scrub my entry tile after the construction crew was finished form our Christmas Flood…oh, my it was black, black, black. I used Hydrogen Peroxide and a few old stiff toothbrushes. Worked beautifully…and it’s CHEAP too! 🙂 It does take some scrubbing when the grout is sooo bad…

    ~Lorelai
    Life With Lorelai

  6. I see these sponges but I never thought that they really worked. I thought it was all a gimmick to make me buy it. You just made me a believer. I’m definitely picking up some on my next trip to Walmart. Maybe it might clean the kids bathroom. 🙂

  7. I like these and I don’t like them. My kids are freakin’ animals with our walls. If there is any kind of writing utensil anywhere it will be used on the wall. I don’t know what to do about that! But the walls oh the walls. I use a magic eraser on it and it’ll get some of it off. The walls are textured so the top part will come off, but the parts of the marker/crayon on the depressed portions of the wall don’t come off. On our doors? Forget it. I can’t get washable marker off the door with anything! Washable marker! So I do magic eraser for as much as I can get off then I just have to paint over everything. The other downside of them is that they don’t last long at all. They crumble and fall apart and die after one big use, or two medium uses.

    After saying all that, I still buy them and use them. They work for lots of things, but don’t fully work on some. I just need someone to make my kids stop being ridiculous machines of destruction.

  8. I use Magic Erasers for that fact that they don’t emit any toxic fumes. I have one little toy poodle that takes seizures and I discovered that any chemicals used would set him off.

  9. Pingback: On the Road in September |

Leave a Reply

