Caramel Apple Cupcakes

This coming Sunday marks the first day of Fall, and I’m already in the mood. Of course, we live in Florida, so it takes a LOT to be in the mood for fall when the temps are still in the 90’s! One thing that really gets me in the mood is Fall-themed baking! So last week, when my friend and I had a bunch of cupcakes to make, I chose to make some of my faves:

DSC_0232

Caramel Apple Cupcakes

1 package carrot cake mix (you could use a spice cake mix, but I use carrot cake)
2 cups chopped, peeled tart apples
20 caramels (I use the soft ones)
3 tablespoons milk
1 cup finely chopped pecans, toasted (you don’t have to toast these if you don’t have time, they’re awesome either way!)
12 popsicle sticks

Prepare cake batter according to package directions; fold in apples.

Fill cupcake pans 3/4 full with batter. (I placed cupcake liners in my pans first, but I’m sure you could spray them and go without the liners, if you wanted.)

Baked in a 350 degree oven for 20 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. Cool for 10 minutes, then move to wire rack and cool completely.

In a saucepan, cook the caramels and milk over low heat until smooth. Spread over the cupcakes. Sprinkle with toasted pecans. Insert popsicle sticks in the center of each cupcake to resemble caramel apples.

And they look like this:

DSC_0232

Pretty cute, huh? And the reviews on these are AWESOME!!! (I wish I could remember where I got this recipe from…I found it a few years ago and I have no clue who to attribute it to!)

While I was making these, my friend was making these:

DSC_0234

The one on the left was a Hot Chocolate Cupcake, and the one on the right was a Sweet Potato Casserole Cupcake. Can you say YUM?!

She also made a Pumpkin Lava Cupcake:

DSC_0235

I mean, seriously. It doesn’t get any better than that!

In case you were wondering, her recipes came from Stefani over at Cupcake Project. Check out her pages, you’ll love them!

We were creating all of these as a fundraiser – here’s our end result:

DSC_0164

We ended up making about $200, so we were pretty happy with that!

Whatcha think? Are you in the mood to do some Fall baking?

29 thoughts on “Caramel Apple Cupcakes

  1. Oh, I am so ready for Fall… I love everything about it. The colors, the smells, the baking, the cooking, the decorating…you name it! In fact we just did an End-of-Summer Beginning-of-Fall BBQ over the weekend; it was amazing! πŸ™‚

    Your cupcakes look wonderfully delicious, as do the others you highlighted. I am definitely popping over to Cupcake Project!

    ~Lorelai
    Life With Lorelai

  2. Pingback: On the Road in September |

Leave a Reply

