Zucchini Lasagna

In my quest to keep us as healthy as possible these days, I’ve been paying close attention to the recipes I try out. Less gravy-covered, cheese-smothered, carb infested things. More clean foods, more preservative free foods, more sugar-free foods. Follow me? So when I came across a recipe for Zucchini Lasagna on Pinterest, I KNEW I had to try this one.

DSC_0318

Zucchini Lasagna

1 pound ground beef or ground turkey
1 cup green bell pepper, chopped
1 cup onion, chopped
1 zucchini, sliced thinly (I actually used one-and-a-half)
1 box of mushrooms, sliced (more or less to your liking – and I didn’t add these in because my hubby HATES mushrooms)
1 (24-ounce) jar of marinara sauce
1/2 cup fresh shredded Parmesan cheese (optional)
1 cup low-fat mozzarella cheese (optional) – can add more or less!
3 cloves garlic, minced (I used 1.5 teaspoons garlic salt instead)
Salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.

Brown the ground beef or ground turkey in a large pot over medium heat, stirring frequently.

DSC_0300

Add in garlic, onion and green pepper, and continue to sauté for 5 minutes.

DSC_0301

Stir in marinara sauce.

DSC_0302

Bring sauce to a light boil, then remove from heat.

DSC_0304

Add 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese and stir.

DSC_0306

Set the rest aside.

DSC_0305

Place a thin layer of the sauce in the baking dish.

DSC_0307

Layer zucchini and mushrooms over sauce, then mozzarella cheese.

DSC_0308

Repeat, alternating layering of sauce, then zucchini and mushrooms.

DSC_0309

DSC_0310

Finish with layer of mozzarella cheese on top and sprinkle with remaining Parmesan cheese.

DSC_0312

DSC_0313

Bake lasagna at 325°F for 15 minutes, covered with foil.

After 15 minutes, remove foil, increase temperature to 350°F, and bake for an additional 15 minutes.

And…ta da!

DSC_0314

DSC_0316

DSC_0318

This was YUMMY!

If I was cooking for myself alone, I would have totally added the mushrooms. However, my hubby was already not thrilled with the idea of Zucchini Lasagna, so I decided not to push the envelope with mushrooms – which he hates. In the end, he proclaimed it really good, and much better than he thought it would turn out. HA! Poor thing. He’s so patient while I play in the kitchen!

The original recipe also didn’t tell me what size pan to use. I ended up using a 9X9, just because I figured I could grab another square pan if I had leftover ingredients. I had a tiny bit of sauce left, and I had to start cutting into another zucchini to finish out my layer. (Three layers I ended up with.) So, you could use a 9X13 pan, but you would just need to adjust the recipe accordingly. Somehow.

This was definitely a keeper! And with ground turkey, low-fat cheeses, low sugar marinara, combined with all the veggies, you’re looking at a healthy dish! And it’s husband-approved!

Have you ever made a zucchini lasagna before?

Oh, and make sure you check out the following Recipe Link Parties I’ve linked this post to!

Anyonita Nibbles
Golden Reflections Blog
I’m An Organizing Junkie (http://orgjunkie.com/2013/09/menu-plan-monday-sept-2313.html)

31 thoughts on “Zucchini Lasagna

  1. 4 words…COPY…PASTE…FORMAT…PRINT! Literally…

    The only thing I would do is NOT tell the others it has Zucchini inside. I would have to finely chop or puree it into the pasta sauce.

  2. Oh yes, zucchini lasagna is so so yummy. I would just replace the noddles with zucchini for me in a extra dish or just a part of the whole lasagna, and my teens get the noodles, so everyone is happy.
    Another thing I do with zucchini, I replace part of the ground meat with grated/shopped zucchini, works great, makes the dish more juice and less expensive. Works great for lasagna, meatballs, … .

  3. Oh my goodness this looks delicious. I’ve heard that ground turkey is a lot healthier than beef but I much prefer beef. I am so going to try this. Thanks for the recipe and those step by step photos so I don’t miss anything. 🙂

  4. Pingback: On the Road in September |

  5. Great recipe. I am going to Pin it also. My husband doesn’t like mushrooms either so I will have to leave them out. I like that this doesn’t have the ricotta cheese. They don’t like that either and I have to admit it makes regular lasagna look gross. This will be on my menu next week. Visiting from the traffic jam hop.

  6. Sounds yummy, Kristen! Pinned to my Pinterest board and tweeted on SITSSharefest this morning. Thanks for linking up to Traffic Jam Weekend.

Leave a Reply

