Over the Weekend!

4d8b540af6d3c30fda487468aa94340c

We had a crazy busy weekend…to the point that I thought I just might have a nervous breakdown (HA! Just kidding…well, maybe only kidding a little…) But it was all worth it in the end!

Accomplished on Friday:

  • I got someone to clean my house. And YES, this is marked as an accomplishment on my list! First of all, because I’m pretty anal about cleaning my house and it’s hard for me to “let go” and let someone else do it. And second of all because it’s hard to find someone to clean a house around these parts. But I knew I couldn’t get everything done this weekend – there was just no way.
  • Grocery shopping

Accomplished on Saturday:

  • Basically put out fires all the live long day. I mean, really. If it could go wrong, it went wrong on Saturday. Everything from the washing machine leaking to the back porch screen door falling apart. I was supposed to only have a few things to prep for as far as our house guests that were coming in that afternoon, but instead I ended up with a multitude of tasks. To be quite honest, it was not a good day at all. And it takes a lot for me to say that it wasn’t a good day, because I LOVE looking for the positive. But I was really having a hard time finding it.
  • Just before dinner we headed up to the church to pick up our kiddos from the African Children’s Choir
  • Brought them and their chaperone home, got dinner on the table and made sure they got through all their showers and bedtime routine. (Their bedtime was 8:00 p.m. – wow!)
  • Worked with photography clients

Can I just interject here that these kids are absolutely amazing? I know I blogged a little bit about the African Children’s Choir earlier in the week, but seriously, the gift the choir gives these incredible children is pretty fantastic! Please check them out at www.africanchildrenschoir.com. I have never been thanked so many times – from a thank-you for the ride home to a thank-you for these beds that we can sleep in. Such sweethearts. And they immediately were referring to Jerrod and I as Auntie and Uncle. They were an absolute joy.

We had four little boys and their chaperone, so we put all the boys in the Project Room on the air mattresses, and the chaperone right down the hall from them in the guest room. (And let me just say that these air mattresses are the GOOD kind – the Queen raised and velour-covered ones!) Then they had the guest bathroom to use, and it worked out quite well all the way around.

Oh, here we all are on our way to church on Sunday!

DSC_0172

Accomplished on Sunday:

  • House guests up, dressed, fed, cleaned up, packed up and delivered back to the church
  • Wonderful service with the sweet kids singing and dancing!
  • Thank-you/birthday party/luncheon for one of our Sunday School teachers who is moving on to another class
  • Sunday afternoon nap (just a little one, but it still counts!)
  • Photo shoot of 4 great kids in an urban setting
  • Worked with more photography clients

By the end of the day Sunday, I was totally wiped out. The good news is, in all the craziness of the weekend, I actually lost another pound! I guess I need to run around like a chicken with my head cut off more often!

How was YOUR weekend? Do anything fun?

20 thoughts on “Over the Weekend!

  1. Lol I really like your slogan for today, it’s so true! And also if we could have 48 hour days instead of 24…
    Great accomplishments for the weekend btw!

  2. Your weekend was crazy! I’m so glad you enjoyed the boys and their chaperone…beautiful picture, btw. Our weekend was way less hectic. Saturday we replaced the faucet and valves in the laundry sink in the garage (they’d only been there for 42 years). that was quite a job, poor Luke. Sunday we harvested more bell peppers, tomatoes, and cucumbers and cut some herbs to take over to Luke’s dad. We spent all afternoon with Luke’s dad and step-mom. It was a nice visit. And as always, I ran around with Rory and her busy schedule. LOL

    ~Lorelai
    Life With Lorelai

    • Ah, faucet valves! I wish I knew how to do stuff like that! We have to call one of our dads LOL And I can’t wait until we have a fence up and I can try to grow some things! Sounds like you enjoyed yourselves πŸ™‚

    • HA! I need a nap, too! Yes, one of these days I’m sure I will have someone else clean it more regularly – but until then, I actually enjoy cleaning it myself (when I’m not pressed for time!) I did two loads of laundry last night and scrubbed the bathrooms and kitchen until they sparkled!

  3. You were busy busy… me too. My hubby had a retirement ceremony on Friday, 30 years in the Coast Guard. That afternoon we went to the Neptune Festival Art Show on the Boardwalk in VA Beach, then that night we watched Poco perform. They are one of my favorite bands and it was a free concert.
    Saturday was an unwinding day, the Sunday was as usual, church services am and pm. I’m usually wiped out by the end of Sunday too.
    Good to hear you are having pounds drop!! Woo Hoo!

Leave a Reply

