Pumpkin & Cheese Spice Bread

I’ve been pinning lovely Fall ideas and recipes on my Pinterest board “Fabulous Fall” since LAST Fall! And this year I decided that I was actually going to try some of these new-to-me recipes! So here’s one I tried this past weekend…originally nabbed from Pinterest via Faith at An Edible Mosaic!

DSC_0023

Pumpkin & Cheese Spice Bread

For the Cheese Batter:

8 oz. cream cheese, room temperature
1 large egg, room temperature, lightly beaten
1/4 cup powdered sugar
1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
For the Pumpkin Spice Batter:

3/4 cup brown sugar, lightly packed
2 large eggs
3/4 cup pumpkin puree
2 tablespoons oil
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/4 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
3/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon ginger
1/8 teaspoon cloves

Preheat oven to 350 degrees; lightly grease 3 mini loaf pans with butter (mini loaf pans were 5 3/4 inches long X 3 inches wide X 2 inches deep)

DSC_0001

For the cheese batter, use a handheld electric mixer to beat together all ingredients in a medium bowl until smooth and creamy (I don’t think my cream cheese was exactly room temperature, can you tell?)

DSC_0015

For the pumpkin spice batter, whisk together brown sugar and eggs in a medium bowl until light and fluffy…

DSC_0002

then stir in the pumpkin, oil and vanilla.

DSC_0008

DSC_0010

In a separate bowl, whisk or sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt,cinnamon nutmeg, ginger and cloves.

DSC_0012

Gradually stir the dry ingredients into the wet, being careful not to over-mix.

DSC_0013

Divide the pumpkin batter between the 3 loaf pans…

DSC_0014

…then pour the cheese batter on top.

DSC_0016

DSC_0017

Bake until golden around the edges, about 35-40 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted inside comes out clean or with just a couple crumbs.

DSC_0019

Cool 10 minutes in the pans…

DSC_0020

…then remove from the pans and transfer to a wire rack to finish cooling. (Or simply serve from the pan like I did, if you are planning on taking them to an event!)

DSC_0021

Whatcha think?

DSC_0024

Of course, it’s not gluten-free, so I wasn’t able to eat it, but all of my testers raved about it!

DSC_0022

Give it a try and see what you think! It’s the perfect Fall recipe!

And check out some other great recipes over at:

Golden Reflections Blog (http://goldenreflectionsblog.com/2013/10/good-tastes-tuesday-10-8.html)Anyonita Nibbles (http://anyonitanibbles.blogspot.co.uk/2013/10/tasty-tuesdays-31-call-for-halloween.html)
I’m An Organizing Junkie (http://orgjunkie.com/2013/10/menu-plan-monday-oct-713.html)

45 thoughts on “Pumpkin & Cheese Spice Bread

  1. I think I tried to make something like this last year and it was good….but this looks waaaaaay better! I will be making this soon! Thank you for the inspiration! I will pin this!

  2. Oh yummy… I’ve never seen pumpkin bread with cheese on top. That looks so good. I’m definitely going to give this one a try. I love your pictures, especially the one with your blue kitchen aid and it reflecting the bowl; very cool. That is love to make bread for people that you can’t eat!

  3. I agree with Bonnie, I probably would have tried to eat the furniture in your house. I’m not a fan of pumpkin foods unless they taste like sweet potato or nothing like pumpkin. I’m not sure if that made any sense…LOL! Basically, I like the smell of pumpkin stuff but not eat it. Beyond bonkers, I know.

  4. Pingback: On the Road in October |

Leave a Reply

