How to Make a T-Shirt “Girly”

I don’t wear too many t-shirts. They’re normally a Saturday affair; jeans and a t-shirt thrown on to run some errands. And I guess I don’t wear them too much because they feel “boxy” and the neck normally feels too high for me.

But a couple weeks ago, I had a problem. Because a t-shirt is all I could find to wear.

We were headed to the Tampa Bay Rays game (baseball) and my hubby had a nice hat to wear, so I was on the hunt for a cute women’s “blingy” shirt to wear (in support of the team, of course!) But none could be found! I was a little disappointed, and I didn’t have time to “bling out” a shirt like I’ve done in the past, so I decided to do something different.

Here’s the t-shirt I bought:

DSC_0294

Just big and boxy and plain with no imagination at all. I mean, it was a fine shirt (on clearance at Walmart!) but it wasn’t exactly what I wanted.

Sooo…I sliced off the sleeves, cut in a v-neckline and took a few inches off the bottom. All I needed was my handy dandy fabric scissors. Then I washed it in HOT water (to shrink it) and dried it multiple times (to allow the fabric to “roll” a bit on the edges that I had cut…and…

DSC_0027

Isn’t that better?! It felt MUCH more feminine – and I’m SUCH a girly-girl, I NEED feminine! I added a “team colors” headband, some jewelry and jeans and white jewel-studded flip flops, and I was good to go!

Now, let it be known that I have countless ideas for modifying t-shirts, and I do it all the time, but I was at a point with this one where I didn’t HAVE any time to work wonders on it. However, I still think it’s better than it was!

What about you? Are you a t-shirt wearer? Or do you “dress them up” a bit? What’s your favorite way to dress one up?

36 thoughts on “How to Make a T-Shirt “Girly”

  1. I’m okay with big and comfy tee’s but my daughter always cuts and alters hers to make them a little more her style. She likes to cut the neck similar to how you did yours but even more so and wear a tank top under in a complimentary color to go with it. I think it’s awesome that you and she can take the same shirt everyone has and make it your own. Good job! Cindy, visiting from the Ultimate Blog Challenge on FB.

  2. What a great idea!!!! I am currently in that same situation. I am wearing a boxy old tshirt right now and the neck feels so high!!! How many washes does it hold up to?

  3. This is such a great idea! I wish I would come up with such and idea. I use to be all dressed up. I have to admit, since I have had work at home jobs, I am more of a t-shirt girl for now. I know they don’t look so well. But some days it is just what happens 🙂 The kids keep me busy. I know when I need to I don’t mind dressing up.

Leave a Reply

