Make Your Own Laundry Cream…like these folks did!

I recently came across an interesting DIY product, perfected and produced by a couple in my hometown! It grabbed my attention, and I wanted to share it with all of you – so I sat down with them and asked them a few questions about their creation: Dot’s Sunbeam Laundry Cream!

Meet Kathie and Stephen!

DSC_0042

They were high school sweethearts, and now, 10 years and two kids later, they’ve started a brand new business. Although Kathie works as a teacher and Stephen works as an accountant, they say that this new venture has brought them together in completely different way!

Kristen: When did you first become interested in creating your own laundry detergent?

Kathie: Well, our Sunday School teacher’s wife had told me about the recipe that she had found online, and told me I should try it. I told her thanks but no thanks (laughing). I didn’t want to make my own laundry detergent, are you kidding me? But then, over Memorial Day weekend, I just decided to try it. I destroyed my kitchen. I used every pot, pan, spoon, bowl, you name it, I used it. All for three jars of the laundry cream! It was a lot of work, but I really liked the results!

Stephen: The funny thing is, Kathie doesn’t even like doing laundry! But since we’ve been making this laundry cream, there’s hardly any laundry to do, because we’re constantly testing out new versions of it!

Kristen: Why did you decide to keep doing it?

Kathie: Well, when I was making the first batch, Stephen came in the kitchen, talking about me being “Susie home-maker.” I kind of indignantly posted a picture of the laundry cream on Facebook, captioning it with his comment, and saying how we’ve been married for 10 years, we’ve had two kids, I work full time, but I wasn’t “Susie home-maker” until I made my own laundry detergent! Just being funny, you know? But people started commenting on it, and then someone wanted to buy some from me!

Stephen: She wanted to just give it away, but I told her no, you can’t just give this stuff away. If people are wanting it, you need to sell it!

Kristen: So that’s what made you want to share it with others?

Kathie: Yeah, that was pretty much it! I really did just plan on giving it away, but Stephen has such a business mindset, I told him if he would handle the business side then I would make the product, and we would just see what happened.

Stephen: So I came up with the business plan, and got the website and the Facebook page going…and that was that! It all happened pretty fast after that! Now we sell it to individual customers, and we’re also in four stores!

Kathie: We discovered that people love the idea of home-made laundry detergent, but they don’t want to make it themselves. So we do the work for them!

Kristen: What was the inspiration for the name of the detergent?

Kathie: Dot was my grandmother’s name, and I actually use her Sunbeam mixer to make the laundry cream. We incorporated the scripture in because this whole business belongs to God, and we wanted to make sure that was included. And 1 John 1:7 says, “But if we walk in the light, as He is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus, His Son, purifies us from all sin.” When I found that verse, it fit the product perfectly!

Stephen: I thank God for this business every night. It’s all His. We don’t really know exactly what it will turn into – but we’re so thankful for it!

Kristen: What’s next?

Kathie: We have no idea! This has all happened so quickly, we’re just really trying to do our best and enjoy it!

Stephen: I will say that it’s brought our relationship as a couple to a whole new level. Working together on something like this has really been amazing for us, and I wouldn’t trade that experience for anything!

Kristen: Where can people obtain more info?

Stephen: They can visit the website or the Facebook page! The website is www.dotssunbeamlaundrycream.com and the Facebook page is www.facebook.com/dotssunbeamlaundrycream

It was such a pleasure to talk with this enthusiastic couple about their new venture! I’m so excited for them – as far as I’m concerned, the sky’s the limit for Dot’s Sunbeam Laundry Cream!

DSC_0043

Just in case any of you were wondering, YES, you can order your own Dot’s Sunbeam Laundry Cream! CLICK HERE for more information on that. And let me say that, after the interview, I took my jar of Dot’s home and used it on the load of clothes waiting to be washed, and I LOVED it! I have front-loading appliances, and I placed a tablespoon of the detergent right in with the clothes, as per the instructions. The first thing I noticed about the detergent was that it wasn’t at all greasy – it had a great creamy consistency. And the second thing I noticed was that the clothes smelled SO good! Not to mention how clean they were! Definitely a fantastic product – and I loved the fact that it’s homemade, and I’m supporting a local business, not a huge corporation!

No, what about YOU? Do YOU have an idea for something like Kathie and Stephen did? Perhaps you’ve been tossing around thoughts for a product or a company, but you don’t think you could do it?

Why not GO for it?! You’ll never know what might come out of your inspiration until you try! And who knows – maybe what you create will be exactly what someone else is looking for!

You’d better get busy!

39 thoughts on “Make Your Own Laundry Cream…like these folks did!

  1. This is such a cool interview. I love the color of their laundry soap. I have debated trying to make my own, but just don’t now how much work is involved, if I could do it right, if it would work in my washer, or how well it would clean… all of those questions have kept me giving it a go. We’ll see, maybe someday.

    ~Lorelai
    Life With Lorelai

  2. What an awesome idea! I am game for anything that can be made at home. We all do laundry. It is necessity, and what I love is that can be customized to the fragrance you want. I love lavender!
    I have thought about making body butter with natural ingredients. Maybe I should just go for it! At least, I know I will use it.

  3. What a great idea – repinned btw, it’s worth letting others know about healthy ways of doing your own laudry cream that is free of weird chemicals in them.

  4. I love their laundry cream πŸ™‚ I’ve been using it for about a month now and it does smell fantastic! I have been making my own detergent for about 2 years, but mine was the unconcentrated liquid kind-which takes up a LOT of room (that I don’t have). Mine also did not smell as refreshing as this one does. I am going to attempt making my own cream this time and see how it turns out…if not so great I will be going back to Kathie for more! These make great (inexpensive) gifts for friends and family!

  5. I made homemade laundry soap once and I hated the results. I gave up after that. Now I get it so cheap and even free with my couponing, I have no desire to try again! BUT I think there are a lot of reasons people would want to make homemade or even buy it and I think it is great!

  6. Pingback: On the Road in October |

  7. Pingback: Dots Sunbeam Laundry Cream | Intelligent Domestications

Leave a Reply

