Customizing Candlesticks

Ever look for the “perfect” item for a specific part of your home…look for WEEKS for it…and finally find it…but it’s just not exactly right?

I saw this picture on Pinterest over the summer:

a2d8e527784c77e95d3e9b8aa5c2ef7a

So pretty, huh? Thanks, Better Homes & Gardens, for the inspiration! I decided that those pumpkins and those pedestal candlesticks needed to be the centerpiece our dining room table for Fall!

You’ve already seen the pumpkins I found, remember?

DSC_0367

But I had a hard time finding the candlesticks that I wanted. A very hard time.

When I finally found them, they were the right size and shape…but not quite the right style or color. However, they were on clearance at Walmart, and I wasn’t passing them up. I just couldn’t quite figure what was wrong with them. Check them out:

photo

They are actually a dark brown, but they look black. I came to the conclusion that they needed some “distressing”, but I wasn’t sure how to do that.

Then, I got an idea. (Scary, right?)

I had this bottle of Krylon 18 Kt. Gold Plate Metallic Spray Paint.

photo(1)

So I took the candlesticks, some paper towels and this spray paint outside.

I bunched up one a handful of paper towels…

photo(2)

…and spritzed some gold on there…

photo(3)

…and brushed and dabbed it all over my candlesticks.

So…whatcha think? Think it worked? See for yourself!

photo(4)

Can you tell a difference?

photo(1) copy

Kinda cool-looking, I thought!

photo copy

It brightens them up and totally changes their look! I’m much happier with them now!

What do YOU think? Have you ever rigged home decor to make it exactly how you envisioned it?

44 thoughts on “Customizing Candlesticks

  1. Kristen, so cute! I am just not brave enough to try things sometimes. I love pinterest though. It gives me step by step and gives me courage to think outside my non-creative box!! Thanks for the cute idea.

  2. What a stunning centerpiece! I love your creativity 🙂 I have three tiered candle-sticks on my mantle and I never thought to place small pumpkins on them. I think I’m going to get some today! Thanks for the inspiration ~ Renee

  3. Looking good, awesome job! I need to make a metal lamp stand looking old fashionable. I guess it would be a similar process, thank you for the ides.

Leave a Reply

