Three Unique, Meaningful & Lasting Christmas Gifts

Come on, now, don’t get on my case for posting about Christmas NOW. I know, it’s not even Thanksgiving yet, but Thanksgiving kind of inspired these three ideas for Christmas gifts, so it’s okay!

Every year, I sit down with my husband and our Christmas list and try to figure out what to buy for our family and friends. The one thing we say over and over is, “It’s hard to buy for someone who already has everything.”

Isn’t that the truth?! I don’t know about you, but I’m pretty dang spoiled! And most people I know are, too! But I’ve come across three ideas over the past few years that are definitely keepers. (And they’re something you want to get going NOW, so it’s not last-minute!)

mcupload_526ad60d337dc

1. Heifer International

When I first discovered this, I thought it was the coolest thing EVER. This organization lets you give anything from a goat to a camel and so much more to help end poverty! With Heifer International, you can give the full animal, or a share of an animal, to communities around the world in desperate need of animals. You can also give the gift of sustainable farming, women’s empowerment or basic needs – they even have an entire online gift catalog you can view!

rosa_fernandez_gomez

2. World Vision

Jerrod and I actually sponsor a child through World Vision on a monthly basis, and we’ve been thrilled with everything we’ve learned about the organization. Besides giving folks a chance to sponsor a child, World Vision also offers a few animals for giving to those in need, but what grabbed my attention this year was their option to give hope to sexually exploited girls, purchase medicine for sick babies or fund a small business loan. I mean, WOW. What a meaningful contribution in the name of your business-owner family member – the chance for someone in need to start their own business! (And these are not the kind of small-business loans we as Americans would go trying to obtain. These are very reasonable amounts that could easily be gifted!)

Capture

3. Charity Water

Do you think about where water comes from when you turn on the tap? Yeah, me neither. But in Africa alone, people spend 40 billion hours every year walking for water. WOAH. But with Charity Water, almost 9,500 projects have been funded already, and you can help! Can you imagine the first time a child is able to turn on the tap and clean water flows out? Gives me chills! And even better: 100% of your donations will go to helping get water to those in need.

These are three projects that are close to my heart, and I hope you remember them too, the next time you think, “It’s hard to buy for someone who has everything.” Because you really can buy for someone who has everything, simply by helping them give everything to someone else.

And I’m not suggesting that you only look at the three above organizations. There are SO many who need help in this world we live in, and in the season of giving, why not really GIVE?

We have less than a week until Thanksgiving, and I’m thinking of so many wonderful things I’m thankful for. This Christmas season, find a way to share and give with those in need in mind. And teach those around you to do the same. You’ll have the best celebration ever…I promise!

43 thoughts on “Three Unique, Meaningful & Lasting Christmas Gifts

  1. It’s all about charity this week. I just did mine on St. Jude Childrens Research Hospital. I’m going to check out those others. I love the first one so will have to check them out. I always give to charities every holiday season. Happy to learn of some new ones.

  2. I’m so glad that you posted this. We always give Heifer gifts to family in their names…and it truly is amazing to know what even $35 can bring to people globally. I think that family appreciates knowing that goodness is being spread in their honor. I also think it’s an incredibly important example to set for my little ones too…especially during a season that feels so excessive with gifting. Thanks so much for taking the time to share these great causes. I hope that it will inspire others to give too.

  3. Great post! I think that helping others is an awesome way to celebrate and help other people. My family is starting the tradition of helping others this year by picking Angel Tree children and hopefully going to volunteer at a shelter this year. It all about reaching back to help someone else. Helping other people is what Christ wants us to do. Great idea~!

  4. Helping others really signifies the true meaning of the spirit of the season if you ask me. I Have given gifts in people’s names from Heifer International and I am proud to say that I helped people who truly need and deserve it.

  5. I am planning to contribute to World Vision this year and also to UNICEF. This is a great list and you did a great job writing about it. Thank you! šŸ™‚

  6. Love the idea of helping someone with water. Last year our well broke and we had to haul water from the nearest store. We filled and refilled our jugs daily. It was such a chore! I can’t imagine having to WALK miles to get water! And here I thought I had a real hardship! Clean water is an amazing thing to have when you don’t have it. Thanks for this reminder. šŸ™‚

  7. I love all of these, I’ve never heard of them before and recently was thinking I needed to get online and look into organizations for Gifting ideas. You are right about ‘water’ a few years back our well collapsed, it was a nightmare! I not only learned how much water I abuse but how much others must struggle without such a luxury. Thanks for a great post!

  8. Love World Vision!! Our church small group is talking about sending some animals somewhere. I have heard of Heifer Int. but not Charity Water, both sound like great organizations! We truly are so blessed here, many of us live in overabundance, having gone on
    tosome short term missions trips to third world

  9. Having gone on some short term missions trips to some third world countries showed me how blessed we are here and what it truly means to need something. Thanks you for sharing these awesome organizations with us!!

  10. These are wonderful ideas! I can’t remember the name of it, but there is also a general charity card where you can donate the amount given to you by someone else to any charity you want. Win win!

  11. Pingback: On the Road in December |

Leave a Reply

