Our “Theme” for Christmas 2013!

I’m a huge fan of tradition. I especially love the different traditions that families have around the holidays! It’s what makes different families special and unique, and it’s one of my favorite things to hear about from YOU, too!

Before we got married, I wanted to start my own tradition. I was a single gal, and everyone else in my family had someone except me. They all had their traditions, and I was struggling to try to figure out one for myself. I tried to think of what I was good at, what I enjoyed, what I could do that no one else was already doing. And then it hit me.

I decided to “theme” every Christmas. And that started out with my gift wrap.

Each year, I chose a different theme of wrapping items and accessories. And it was important to me that they all pointed back to the real meaning of Christmas. Santa Claus and all the make-believe was fun, but I wanted to make it meaningful.

Here’s an example: the first year I did this, I chose a candy cane theme. My gift tags included the story of the candy cane. Have you read it? You can read the full bit of info HERE, but I created something a little more basic for my gifts…something that looked like this:

fabaa5f813123a2e4399da2d7f3ef8ba

So I’ve done a different theme every year since then! I did stars one year and used the scripture about how the wise men followed the star on my tags…I did holly one year and included the legend of the holly…I’ve even done red, white and blue and used “God Bless America”, too!

Last year’s theme was “Faith, Hope & Love”:

411405_10151208549843877_868197515_o

So, without further ado, this year’s theme is: “I’m Dreamin’ of a White Christmas”, with Isaiah 1:18 as the focus, which says, “β€œThough your sins are like scarlet, they shall be as white as snow; though they are red as crimson, they shall be like wool.” As you can imagine, my key colors are red and white, and there’s some teal in there, too. This graphic was my inspiration, and for the life of me, I can’t remember where I found it now! So if anyone knows where it came from, PLEASE tell me!

4e76d1bf2769ce5b50d8f43ee0ecc39a

And then I pretty much built everything else around it!

Here’s our card that went out this year:

CC Small

I design our cards every year and upload them to VistaPrint for printing and envelopes. Works like a dream! I can make it exactly like I want it, and it’s cost-effective, too! This is the first year I’ve coordinated the cards with the theme, and I LOVE it, because I can use them as gift accents, as well! And did you know that VistaPrintΒ has an entire section on their website just for Christmas cards?! Check this out:Β http://www.vistaprint.com/christmas-cards.aspx

Oh, the gifts! Here’s what the gifts are lookin’ like this year:

photo(1)

I wasn’t sure exactly what kind of wrap I wanted to use, but when I stumbled upon this one, I really liked the simplicity of it! And the “snow” flakes! I added some Baker’s Twine instead of ribbon, and some cute gift tags that coordinate with the card!

Of course, you’ve already seen our treats that went out…

1

8

…and my “I’m Dreamin’ of a White Christmas” Holiday Shelf!

DSC_0031

I was pretty excited with the way everything flowed together, honestly!

So that’s our theme for Christmas 2013! Whatcha think?

Do YOU do a theme for Christmas? What special holiday traditions does your family have? I’d love to hear about them!

26 thoughts on “Our “Theme” for Christmas 2013!

  1. I really didn’t grow up with any Holiday spirit, so when my wife introduced me to what they do, it was like culture shock.. I think what you did with the themes is great!

  2. All I can say is “you did everything perfect!” It’s awesome how you maintained the theme, even in your cards and how you can do that every year. I have a Christmas tree theme, but that’s about as far as I go because I’m still learning organization on my end. πŸ™‚

  3. This is a really cute idea! I actually really love it. I’m going to start doing it and my theme next year will be your theme this year, and so on. HAHA! Totally kidding of course. =] When the Hubs and I got married we started our own little tradition of getting our tree the day after Thanksgiving and promising to always have a “real” tree. I definitely want to add in some more meaningful traditions once we have our little guy (about three more weeks to go!). I haven’t quite thought about what those traditions will be, but I have about a year to figure it out. =]

  4. i love people who do themes for holidays i find it very creative at our house the theme every year is straight chaos nothing more

  5. Everything you put your hand to is blessed and beautiful! I’ve had a couple of tough years in the Christmas dept., two deaths in the family, moving across country and things like that. But I am slowly starting in enjoy the season once again…thankfully! I don’t have a theme but I am getting ideas for next year! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

