Merry Christmas to All!

Good morning, folks, and Merry Christmas! I wanted to share something special with all of you today!

I LOVE Christmas carols, and I pretty much have a favorite carol every single Christmas. This year my favorite one is not one of the carols we hear sung very often. Do you know it? It’s called, “I Heard the Bells on Christmas Day”.

IHeardTheBellsOnChristmasDayPrintable

Somehow those lyrics ring incredibly true to me this year. Here’s all the words:

I heard the bells on Christmas Day
Their old, familiar carols play,

and wild and sweet
The words repeat

Of peace on earth, good-will to men!

And thought how, as the day had come,
The belfries of all Christendom

Had rolled along
The unbroken song

Of peace on earth, good-will to men!

Till ringing, singing on its way,
The world revolved from night to day,

A voice, a chime,
A chant sublime

Of peace on earth, good-will to men!

Then from each black, accursed mouth
The cannon thundered in the South,

And with the sound
The carols drowned

Of peace on earth, good-will to men!

It was as if an earthquake rent
The hearth-stones of a continent,

And made forlorn
The households born

Of peace on earth, good-will to men!

And in despair I bowed my head;
“There is no peace on earth,” I said;

“For hate is strong,
And mocks the song

Of peace on earth, good-will to men!”

Then pealed the bells more loud and deep:
“God is not dead, nor doth He sleep;

The Wrong shall fail,
The Right prevail,

With peace on earth, good-will to men.”

Wikipedia tells us that this carol is based on the 1863 poem “Christmas Bells” by American poet Henry Wadsworth Longfellow. During the American Civil War, Longfellow’s oldest son Charles Appleton Longfellow joined the Union cause as a soldier without his father’s blessing. Charles soon got an appointment as a lieutenant but, in November, he was severely wounded in the Battle of New Hope Church (in Virginia) during the Mine Run Campaign. Coupled with the recent loss of his wife Frances, who died as a result of an accidental fire, Longfellow was inspired to write “Christmas Bells” on Christmas Day in 1863.

Isn’t that beautiful! I think it’s pretty easy to look around our world today and be a bit discouraged. Yes, there is much wrong, but I believe with all my heart that right WILL prevail!

Merry Christmas, everyone! I hope you all have a wonderful day celebrating with your loved ones!

20 thoughts on “Merry Christmas to All!

  1. Where sin doth abound grace much more abounds! I love to hear the history behind the carols. It really makes it more meaningful. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Hi Kristen, I love Christmas carols too. I’m not religious but that doesn’t stop me from thoroughly enjoying the music and words. Currently, my favourite is Oh Holy Night and the Carol of the Bells. Both can make me all teary listening to them. 🙂

  3. Merry Christmas, Kristen.
    I don’t know the song, but the lyrics is wonderful, indeed. I love playing O Holy Night with my piano after the evening Christmas mass. It sounds very peaceful.

Leave a Reply

