Post-Holiday Blues

Well, it’s the day after Christmas, people! I hope you all enjoyed a wonderful time of celebration with your friends and family! We had a great two days full of lots of fun, laughter and even a few tears.

But sometimes, right after a big event (especially like Christmas, that you’ve been planning for months) we can experience a bit of a let-down. All the emotions that we’ve been “hyping up” for months are suddenly spent, and we’re left feeling a bit lost. So what to do when this happens?

Declutter-and-How-to

1. Declutter

This is exactly what I’m going to do today. The house will remain decorated, but there is tons of extra food and gifts and BOXES all over this house. We are definitely blessed…but too much clutter can definitely get in the way of that realization. I intend to do some de-cluttering to clear the house, and my brain in the process.

HOBBY_CLEAN

2. Take up a new hobby

When you’re feeling lost, turn your attention to something new. Is there anything you’ve always wanted to do? Now’s a great time to dive in! Maybe even make it a New Year’s resolution!

Learn-Today

3. Learn

It’s especially important to keep your brain fresh and clear and ready for whatever the new year might bring. Have you Β been meaning to learn a second language? A new skill? Perhaps you’d like to learn to create something, or take up a new career-related skill? Now is the perfect time! (I know I’ll be diving into some insurance lingo and prepping to take a test to obtain an additional license!)

yea

4. Make a healthy lifestyle change

This isn’t just about going on a diet. What have you fallen into that’s become unhealthy in your life? Perhaps you need to schedule some time for yourself. Or start taking some vitamins. Or sit down with your planner and do some organization of the next year to become more well-rounded. Whatever it may be, when you’re feeling the blues is a great time to work on these things. You’ll plan for a better you who won’t feel so down!

Helping-Hand-620x480

5. Give or volunteer

If you want to get your mind off yourself all together, GIVE. To a neighbor, to a friend, to your local shelter, to your local food bank. If you’d like to get even more hands-on, volunteer. Help someone else in a tangible way, and I promise, you’ll feel immensely better about your own situation.

I hope you’re ready to put some of these into practice! Don’t just sit around today – DO something to make a positive difference for yourself!

28 thoughts on “Post-Holiday Blues

  1. After all the To Do lists are completed we are left still spinning from the movement inertia. πŸ˜€
    Great suggestions, although I will take the veg out option today, rest a bit under the fan (32Β°C at 10.30am) and plan 2014. πŸ™‚

  2. Great advice. I’m having trouble wrapping my head around writing today. Not sure it’s the blues, or just being away from it for a few days. It will be nice when I can get back into my routine. Holidays threw me out of whack!

  3. Awesome list! I’ve already did #5 yesterday when I anonymously wrote 7 love letters and left them around town for strangers to find. Sharing love at a time of the year when many don’t have anyone to share, is so important. I know they will end up with people who really needed to see them. ❀

  4. These are some excellent tips. I especially like the last one. I do feel some after Christmas blues sometimes. Our celebrating doesn’t end until today so mine won’t start yet if I get it again this year.

  5. All good things. No blues here. My daughter’s birthday is Dec. 26th so I have been trying to make the 26th about her for the last 35 years. The celebrations continue! We do shift into organization mode for sure once we begin putting away the decorations.

  6. all great tips πŸ™‚ but the real challenge is to implement the lists that each of us plan. i am going to steal some of this things for my new year wish list πŸ˜€

  7. What a great post! When we came back to my parents’ house after Christmas dinner, my husband was ready to clean all the packages. That will be today’s project here as well. As a personal trainer, I definitely recommend having people start thinking about lifestyle changes sooner than later. Even a small commitment to get moving will go a long way in helping you create a routine before the New Year. If you or anyone are interested, I’m hosting a 12 Days of Fitness Blog Challenge. We started yesterday, but anyone can join at any time. The more, the merrier πŸ™‚ The link to join is here: https://www.facebook.com/groups/12.Days.of.Fitness.Bloggers/

  8. Great tips for the New Year! I know I’ve got plans for a few of these, new crafts, helping others, getting more organized.. o.k… you get the point.. I’ve got a TON to do. I’ve always enjoyed the days that just followed the holiday, quieter time to reflect and enjoy without the rush. It’s February that kicks my butt.. the lack of daylight starts to wear thin. This year I am trying to get out of the office a little more, get some outside time regardless of the weather.. I’m trying to get ahead of the February blues (more like grays!) in New England πŸ™‚ I love ALL these ideas, will be using many of them in the days and months ahead πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

