Over the Weekend…

b675c739c32012b203fd9ebcd3adb5b4

I have been looking forward to this weekend so much! It was supposed to be a good one! Christmas was over, I wasn’t running in a million directions at once, I didn’t have any huge projects to work on, and I was totally looking forward to seeing more friends who were in from out-of-town and some catching up in the sleep department.

Yeah, well.

Accomplished on Friday:

  • Dinner with friends in from out-of-town
  • Half of the grocery shopping. (I had to stop at 10:00 p.m. because the store was closing.)

Accomplished on Saturday:

  • Cleaned the entire house. (My plan of doing little things here and there throughout the week so I wouldn’t have to spend an entire day of the weekend cleaning did not work this week. Between Christmas and my husband getting sick, there was no time left to clean.)
  • Used up 4 hours for a photo shoot. (Travel time each way was 1.5 hours.)
  • Finished the grocery shopping

Accomplished on Sunday:

  • Sunday School, Choir and church
  • Lunch with friends
  • Blog planning
  • Photography business organizing. (I shut down my photography business for the entire month of January to attempt to catch a breather from the crazy months of October – December, and it takes a bit of doing to get it ready to be left alone for a month!)
  • Cooked dinner (anybody ever had Cheeseburger Soup, or should I share that recipe here sometime?)

Honestly, I’m pretty disappointed with the lack of stuff that got done this weekend. I’m so tired. I really just want to quit everything and go sit in my big ol’ walk-in closet and do NOTHING. Even when I try to sleep I can’t, because my brain won’t shut up. Hence the reason I got no nap on Sunday.

I had forgotten how ridiculous I get at the end of the year…but I’m right back to it again. I am so exhausted of everyone needing everything from me, and there always being SO much to do ALL THE TIME. I guess the theory that “I’ll rest when I’m dead” applies now, right? Right now I’d like nothing more than to quit my full-time job, close my photography business forever, quit blogging for good, and find a lovely rock to climb under.

This is what an overly-tired overly-extended Kristen sounds like, y’all. I’m sorry for the jolt of realism in today’s post, and I think the only thing to do isΒ try to hang on and get through it. Please tell me someone else feels the same way?

26 thoughts on “Over the Weekend…

  1. I think we are all feeling a little run down and a whole lot of tired. I say we take the day off and drink hot tea and be a couch potato all day long! I wish! I’m spending the day at the church taking down all the Christmas decor. Why is it always so much more fun putting it all up? Try and get some rest!

    • HA! In a perfect world, tea and the couch sound lovely πŸ™‚ I went to bed early last night to try to get some rest, only to be kept awake by my snoring husband. I got about 3 hours, I think. I’ll try again after our New Year’s Eve party tonight, ha!

  2. Just before Christmas, I felt tired too. I had zero energy and really, truly needed to physically recharge. So, I took a few light days. I do not plan to go full speed ahead until next week. But, I’ve used this time to clean my office and home; completed a self swot and business swot; and line up 52 weeks of sales and marketing activities so that I get started implementing a strategic plan. You can get free SWOT and sales activities worksheets on my website at: http://lemongrassplanning.com/2013/swot-and-sales-activities-plan-for-2014/

  3. Your weekend is always so filled. Every time I read it i feel tired. πŸ™‚ I don’t think I would be able to accomplish half of what you do. Well granted I have a toddler who would stop me from doing most of it anyway. Even though you think you didn’t do a lot, just take a look at it again. Here’s hoping for a less filled what I did this weekend in 2014. Happy New Year.

  4. You need some R&R. Schedule a “lazy day” for yourself. Every time I read your weekend review I get exhausted. You’ve got a lot of focus and energy. Can you sent some vibes my way? πŸ˜‰
    I always get exhausted after Christmas because of the cleaning and making room for the new items we receive. I mean, new toys in and the really old ones have to leave, which mean I need to sort. I also feel the need to clean the entire house from top to bottom. Especially after having unexpected guests. But this year I’ve had a crazy “after Christmas” with my husband’s uncle going to the hospital in critical condition the day after and with my personal problems.
    I hope you have a more relaxed week. Have a Happy New Year!!

  5. You are not alone my friend. When I’m at home I can’t sit still. Every time I sit down a million things that I could be doing are running through my head. I have this, “if I just do it now I won’t have to do it later” thing that I tell myself, but guess what? I did it now and something else came up for later. It’s never ending. I have gotten over the fact that my house doesn’t have to be “show ready” all the time (who am I kidding – my house is NEVER show ready). WE LIVE THERE and if it’s okay if it looks that way – but it still bothers me to see things cluttered or completely out of place. So ya, there’s ALWAYS something to do. It’s only going to get worse with a baby! Honestly, sometimes I just have to get out of the house in order to “not do anything”, but just because you’re not at home doesn’t mean you’re not doing anything – you’re just not cleaning lol

  6. I pray you find rest BUT I know if you quit all those things you would be bored within days!! It is the way you are wired. Do you get to rest for New Years Day? The week will be here before you know it, I recommend a lovely bubble bath, a large glass of water with a bit of lemon or orange in it and then crawl into that comfy bed for a long winters nap. A bit of realism never hurt anyone. πŸ™‚

  7. It’s been a whirl-wind of a week for me too! Trying to get the cleaning in here & there has been exhausting, but at least we’ve had a couple of days off to regroup & rest. Happy New Year!! ~Renee

  8. Glad you were able to get everything accomplished. I am running ragged and trying to catch up and get organized. Right now that sees impossible. Glad you managed to find some time with friends.

  9. I can totally relate, Kristen. Luke actually made me do absolutely NOTHING on Saturday, and it was really nice. I did need the rest, and the few things that I left undone, were easily accomplished on Sunday. I’ve learned over the years that there are times when I need to just let go and take care of myself, or else I get sick and then nothing really gets done for a long time. Take care of yourself, and don’t sweat the small stuff. It will still be there once you are a little rested. Have a Happy New Year! πŸ™‚

    ~Lorelai
    Life With Lorelai

  10. oh Silly girl. a rock over your head would hurt πŸ˜‰ you are so energetic and organized, sounds like you hit that imaginary wall this time of the year (mine is February). Have you tried just simply scheduling ‘me time’, a pedicure, an hour or two or reading, an hour lunch in your car or at a park by yourself, a movie or just coffee with a friend? Make this part of your weekly schedule and it will pay you back ten fold! Happiest of New Years and please for the love of god, keep away from rocks! They hurt !!!

Leave a Reply

