On Prepping for the Competition

Well, it’s that time again! I’m prepping for this year’s Florida Strawberry Festival!

The Florida Strawberry Festival is held each year in Plant City, which is the Winter Strawberry Capital of the World, believe it or not, and features entertainment (like Little Big Town and Rascal Flatts), exhibits, rides, and TONS of competitions. Competitions from the Strawberry Queen pageant, all the way through agriculture, right on down to crafts and baked goods. You can visit their website HERE for more info!

I’ve been attending the Festival since I was…well…since I was! HA! The hubby and I actually have been working the information booth as volunteers there for years. And I’ve always wanted to participate in some of the competitions, but I was never able to…until last year.

Last year I entered Strawberry Shortcake Cookies into the Neighborhood Village Baking Competition in the cookie category, and I won second place! I was beside myself! (And I blogged about it HERE, in case you want to check it out! This was over on the OLD blog!)

Cookie

Baggie

IMG_1779

So this year, I’m out for first!

But I’m trying to choose between three recipes:

  • Lime Sugar Cookies (with Pumpkin Seeds)
  • Potato Chip Cookies
  • Mini Strawberry Pie Cookies

Whatcha think? The main things I want to make sure of is that the cookie is unique, that it isn’t too overwhelming to prep and that it doesn’t need refrigeration. OH, and that it doesn’t involve a cake mix.

So what’s YOUR favorite from the above list? Why? Do you have any other suggestions for me? Time to break out all your UNIQUE cookie recipes and see if they’re prize-winning!

114 thoughts on “On Prepping for the Competition

Leave a Reply

