On Planning the Night Before

I’ve never been a morning person. Not even a little bit. I’ve always been a night owl, and if it was a busy week, I would always opt for staying up late to get things done rather than getting up early to accomplish the same. But the more I did that, the more I realized that pre-planning the night before really makes for a smoother tomorrow!

On Planning the Night Before

So, here’s what I do the night before…the night before any particular day, really!

1. Check the Calendar

What do we have going on tomorrow? Is there anything I have forgotten about or need to do extra prepping for? Believe me, it’s much better to “remember” something the night before than it is to remember it in the middle of the day when you can’t do anything about it…or even worse, after you’ve already passed it!

2. Prep Tomorrow’s Breakfast

I am a breakfast eater (it’s the most important meal of the day, right?) and my hubby is a weekend breakfast eater, so Sunday – Thursday, I’m making sure my breakfast is all set and easily accessible, and on Fridays and Saturdays, I make sure that both of us are ready to go. That way you’re not getting up and flying around, trying to throw Pop Tarts or bananas to hungry people.

3. Prep Tomorrow’s Lunch

We each take our own lunch to work, so it’s great to get that set the night before…or know that we’re gonna have to run out and grab lunch during the day at some point if there’s nothing to take.

4. Plan Tomorrow’s Dinner

Around breakfast time is when my hubby is normally asking what’s for dinner, ha! So it’s easier for me to check on that the night before. If I need to take meat out to thaw or pre-prep anything, I do it then, rather than coming home from work the next day to realize that I’m up a creek without a paddle.

5. Lay Out Clothes

This is a big one for me. You know us women, we stand in our closets and look at tons of clothes and decide that we really have nothing to wear. There’s no point in creating frustration, especially early in the morning. So I choose clothing (AND accessories) the night before. That way, I can get dressed quickly and easily when it’s time to get ready in the morning.

6. Load Car

If there are certain things I need to have with me the next day, rather than make 10 trips to the car in the morning to get everything loaded, I load the night before. Both of our cars stay in our garage, so there’s no worries about anyone stealing things from the car, and all I have to do is give a cursory glance over everything the next morning.

So there you have it! What’s YOUR best tip for pre-planning the night before? Share with all of us!

105 thoughts on “On Planning the Night Before

  1. I need to do this more! I make sure all the kids clothes are laid out and backpacks are set, but that’s about it. Thanks for linking up with the Bloggers Brags Pinterest Party. I have pinned your post to the Bloggers Brags Pinterest Board!

  2. Wow that was odd. I just wrote an really long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up.
    Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyway, just wanted to say fantastic
    blog!

Leave a Reply

