How to Create Your Own Poke Cake!

The title of this blog makes me giggle. But I don’t know what else to call it!

I discovered “the Poke Cake” last summer, and then again at Christmas, and then once more at Easter. I’m told they’re old hat, but I had never made one before, and every time I made one, I marveled at the simplicity of the process, and at the fact that everyone LOVES THEM.

So, today, I propose that anyone can create their own poke cake!

But first, here’s what got me going:

Last summer, the fresh Banana Pudding Poke Cake from Just a Pinch right here: 

http://www.justapinch.com/recipes/banana-pudding-poke-cake-18.html (looks like it originally came from http://www.thecountrycook.net)

08081655e78781d280a57960eac0da82

This past Christmas, the festive White Chocolate Peppermint Poke Cake from Liz on Call right here:

http://lizoncall.com/2013/11/20/white-chocolate-peppermint-poke-cake-2/

Peppermint Poke Cake 1

On Easter, the Pudding Poke Carrot Cake from The Country Cook right here:

http://www.thecountrycook.net/2013/03/pudding-poke-carrot-cake.html

Screen Shot 2014-05-04 at 7.16.01 PM

Aren’t all of those absolutely yummy-looking?

And now…let’s take a look at the one I created. I call it: Strawberries & Cream Poke Cake

I started with a strawberry box cake mix, prepped just like the box says.

DSC_0089

After it’s finished in the 9X13 pan, I grabbed a wooden spoon and got to poking with the handle of the spoon.

DSC_0090

DSC_0091

Once I’ve got as many holes in the cake as is possible without breaking it down, I fill the holes with strawberries and cream pudding, mixed with the recommended amount of milk, quickly, before it’s all firmed up.

DSC_0093

Then I poured the rest of the pudding over top.

DSC_0094

Time for the whipped cream!

DSC_0095

DSC_0096

I chose to top with some fresh strawberries…YUM.

DSC_0097

I didn’t really have a plan to place the strawberries in any particular pattern on top of the cake, but this is just kind of what happened.

DSC_0098

And there you have it! My Strawberries & Cream Poke Cake! This one was loved just as much as the others I had prepared! I think everyone loves them for the fact that they’re so cool and moist by the time they’re finished. (Because, if you know me, you know that I’m gluten-free, and I can’t eat any of these, ha!)

So, to make your OWN Poke Cake, here’s what you need to do:

1. Select a box cake mix
2. Select a pudding
3. Select a topping to go over the whipped cream

It’s that simple! Just make sure all the flavors correspond. Here are some examples that I plan on trying in the near future:

Yellow cake, lemon pudding, crushed lemon wafers
White cake, coconut cream pudding, shredded coconut and/or shaved chocolate
Chocolate cake, Oreo (cookies ‘n cream) pudding, whipped cream, crushed Oreos
Red velvet cake, cheesecake pudding, shaved white chocolate and/or graham cracker crumbs
Spice cake, Pumpkin Spice pudding, apple chips or candy corn

Oh, and also, try adding some extract to flavor the whipped cream with!

So, what about you? Have you ever made a poke cake? What flavor combination would YOU try?

 

105 thoughts on “How to Create Your Own Poke Cake!

  1. I have never made a poke cake before and have seen many recipes for them.. This would be so good for a gathering in the summertime. Thanks for linking up to the Bloggers Brags Pinterest Party. I’ve pinned your post to the Bloggers Brags Pinterest Board.

Leave a Reply

