New Product Tryouts: Great Value Pot-Sized Linguine

You may remember this picture from a post I did here on the blog last week.

DSC_0105

Look familiar?

Notice anything out of the ordinary?

How about now?

DSC_0105

Do you notice that small blue box on the left? That’s my linguine. Such a small box, right? Check this out:

DSC_0106

I accidentally came across this in the store, and, I’ll admit, first, I laughed. I laughed really hard. I mean, how lazy are we in this society that we can’t even be bothered to break up our pasta anymore?! Really!

And then I thought…well…I could at least blog on it. So I grabbed a box of it.

I am proud to report that this pasta fit into even my tiniest little pot with no issues whatsoever! And, although I never had anything against the full-sized long pasta, I must admit, I thought this short stuff was fantastic!

It even has a handy dandy measuring tool included!

DSC_0107

So I decided that sometimes, it’s the little things in life. Literally and figuratively. While sure, it seems totally frivolous…it’s fun, and if you come across it in YOUR grocery store, you should try it out. Just for the heck of it!

Have you tried any pot-sized pasta?

78 thoughts on “New Product Tryouts: Great Value Pot-Sized Linguine

  1. Since my kids cut their pasts, the length doesn’t matter to us. If they are the same price as the longer ones, then I would definitely pick up the shorter ones just for the ease of use.

  2. I have not tried any pot-sized pasta. I do not think I have seen these before. However, I always break up the pasta before cooking – makes it easier for the little kiddos to eat!

  3. I have not seen any of the pot sized pasta yet, I think it i s a great idea. I would have to wait a while to try it though, my youngest loves trying to get the long pasta on his fork. I know he should not play with his food but he eats it without complaining!

  4. I also break my long pasta in half, but I read something somewhere (by a chef, I believe) that you shouldn’t do that. Who knew? Now I don’t have to since reading about the new pot sized linguine. I didn’t even know it existed.

  5. I heard a bit about the pot sized pasta and then I forgot about it. I def. want to try it, this should have been thought of years ago, yes? Hurrah for it being invented now. 🙂

  6. I haven’t seen any pot sized pasta at our stores, but I am all for giving it a try! It seems like it would cook more evenly fitting in the pot all at once!

  7. I haven’t broken my pasta since my girls where young….but I think this might be good for younger eaters and college kids with little pots!

  8. I have been looking for this and I have yet to find it! Guess I’ll just have ti keep breaking the long spaghetti in 1/2 manually!! (Until I find it!!)

  9. Well, it would make sense if the pot-sized would be the norm, and for those that want the long thing, they would have the extra log.

  10. I have honestly thought about this before, so I am glad they finally came out with it. It seems so convenient and less messy. I try to break them in half in the sink, but some usually end up flying on my floor and then I get stuck sweeping too. These would eliminate all of that.

  11. I like to leave pot-sized pasta in the house if I am going on a trip, because my kids make a huge mess whenever they try to break regular spaghetti noodles. This keeps me from coming home to a huge spaghetti mess!

  12. Why is pot sized pasta not just a normal thing? It makes sense to me! When I do spaghetti, I usually just slowly push it in as the ends heat up to fit it all in without breaking it.

  13. very cleaver and think no more broken noddles falling and breaking into the cracks under your kitchen counters or under the stove and finding it later when you sweep. Great Value looks like a Wallmart brand am I right ?

  14. I have never seen this before now I am going to be on the look out when I got to the store. I usually just try to find the biggest pot possible and use it to put the pasta in but as of late there has been no pasta in my house because my son declared that he hated noodles of any kind…lol

  15. I laughed the first time I saw it in the store and thought the same thing! We have become really lazy to need this product, then I thought ~ I’m surprised it took the makers as long as it did to come up with the idea!!

Leave a Reply

