Patio Dreamin’

From time to time I like to dream with all of you, and these days, I’ve been dreaming about our back patio.

We had the back yard fenced in a few months ago, so we’re working on getting all the grass growing pretty and vanquishing those durn fire ants (who can ruin any backyard gathering pretty quickly, for sure!) I’m also in the midst of “prettying up” the screened-in back porch, and you’ll get to see that soon, but we also have a stone/paver patio that’s uncovered. THAT’S what I’ve been dreamin’ about…

I’ve had a lot of ideas for that patio.

I thought…ooo, fire pit and lots of seating!

62a13ae58967e7ae7af7268f51c87b21

(But then there was a little incident with our grill and I realized that it was no fun to have lots of smoke in the house, and I worried about that with a fire pit being so close.)

Then I thought…hot tub! How nice it would be to come home from a long day and get in that hot tub!

ebc5acd35ec6c8dd824b68ad05fb8135

(But then I remembered that we live in Florida, and it’s already hot most of the time. Oh, and I priced hot tubs. Yeah.)

Then I thought…outdoor living room! You know, the beautiful outdoor furniture, throw in a pergola covered with vines and flowers…that would be perfect!

372805f257d854ede1078f740ee9d86c

(Oh,  but we have allergies, and would never make use of a place to sit under real live flowers. And I priced the type of furniture I wanted. Durn my expensive taste. I mean, really.)

So here’s my current thought:

Star-gazing deck and herb garden.

Now, I know that technically, it’s not a deck, but you’ve got to understand something.

I LOVE the stars. One of my favorite things to do at night is to go out and look at the stars. Where we live the stars are numerous and very clear, and we have a great view of them, especially in the back yard because there are no trees back there. So I do this already anyways. Why not have a couple of nice patio recliners out there so I can go out there at night and relax? Plus, I’ll have herbs growing all around me – the smell will be heavenly and I’ll be cooking with fresher ingredients, too!

So I THINK I’m stuck on that. Let me show you what I’m dreamin’…

Chairs like these…

17a878ff519fff44b7b9576ae78fe98a

…or just one like this!

ea6d38491e8bdbdb6fae60cc2956025f

Herbs like these…

0506488b47a373c73e6423842d722a1e

a95dd34d2428f88ed5141a32c6b1ad9a

f5adbeda009469e2614f0381f6db4f4b

 

So what do you think of my patio dreams? If you had a stone patio, what would YOU do with it?

 

58 thoughts on “Patio Dreamin’

  1. Oh, goodness, I like them all! I’ve been dreaming about a sun room and new (larger) deck. I wouldn’t turn down any of your patio ideas.

  2. Those patios and the adornments are all dreamy!! If we had a stone patio, we would definitely need an arbor with vines for shade, fire pit and some really cozy furniture!

  3. Lovely dreams! I have a screened deck which I spent all afternoon cleaning yesterday. I love it because I can use it rain or shine. And no mosquitoes. Needs some greens to brighten it up. Thanks for the pictures.

  4. Since it’s started warming up, I have starting wishing that my balcony would magically turn into a patio, haha. I’d love to have some seating and green space!

  5. I love the outdoor living room idea but where I live it would have to be a roof… and I agree about the $$$ thing. But I also like the star gazing and herbs, besides over time you can add things. You just have to be cautious about what you plant. There is nothing worse than sitting down to relax and having your allergies start up. What a horrible way to end a long day.

  6. I think it is cool to design the whole patio on those two things – the herb garden and your love of looking up at the stars. I love the pics. that you chose. You have excellent taste!

  7. I love all of them except for the one with the hot tub. The first one with the fire pit is my absolutely favorite. I love the herb planters too – can not wait until I can have a garden.

  8. Our patio is dreadfully small. I’d love to expand it a bit. My dream patio thought would have an outdoor brick pizza oven, lots of seating and plants, and be in a tropical place (just sayin’). 🙂

  9. We’ve always had a deck, but in our little Florida place– I’m thinking along the lines of that outdoor area with a pergola.

  10. Those are some really inspiring patios you have featured. If I had a stone patio I would definitely add a pergola and a fire place. I would create an outdoor living area that ties in really well with the interior.

  11. If I had a patio I would want lots of comfy seats and a outdoor eating area. Then we would have lots of parties. 🙂
    I really like what you are thinking about for your patio. Where I live I can see the stars all the time and I miss them when we travel and I can’t see them. Fresh herbs are the best, they always take any dish up ten notches. 🙂

Leave a Reply

