New Product Review: Dei Fratelli Tomato Products!

**PLEASE NOTE: While Dei Fratelli DID provide me with these products to review at no cost, I was not in any way paid for my review. The following opinion is hereby my own.**

Some time ago, a company I was unfamiliar with contacted me and asked me if I would like to review their products! Tomato products, they said. Sounded good to me – I enjoy cooking with tomatoes, so I agreed. Not long after, a lovely box appeared on my doorstep.

DSC_0001

As you can see, these were no dinky winky sample sizes – these were the full she-bang! Quality right off the bat!

Before I worked with the products, I did a bit more research on them. I found out that Dei Fratelli’s offerings are premium, all natural and gluten free! Picked at the peak of freshness, nutrients are sealed in the canned tomatoes only hours after being taken from the farm. Dei Fratelli canned tomatoes, tomato products and sauerkraut are manufactured by Hirzel Canning Company & Farm, a fourth-generation, family-owned and operated company founded in 1923. Oh how I love a family-owned and operated company!

I decided to try the Italian-style chopped tomatoes in olive oil and herbs first. The color and consistency right out of the can? VERY impressive!

DSC_0003

I mean, doesn’t that look amazing?!

While there were endless possibilities for this particular product, it kind of reminded me of tomato gravy. Have you ever had tomato gravy? Maybe it’s a southern thing. My husband LOVES it! So all I did with this selection was use it over rice (like gravy) and add a side of Salisbury steak.

DSC_0004

Can you say YUM?! It was SO good!

With such a great first experience, I headed for the Truly Finely Chopped Tomatoes (in a light puree with onion, carrot and celery) next!

DSC_0054

I decided to follow the recipe for Pasta Bolognese that was listed on the back of this product. Figured it would be interesting, since I have never made Pasta Bolognese before! Here’s a first look at the finely chopped tomatoes right out of the package.

DSC_0055

You can just SEE all of the good stuff they’re loaded down with!

I really loved the consistency, and how, even with the final sauce, you can actually still see the pieces of tomatoes! No mush here!

DSC_0057

And it was an excellent introduction to Pasta Bolognese, for sure!

Last but not least, the Traditional Sauce.

DSC_0085

First of all, I LOVE the jar! In fact, I love ALL of Dei Fratelli’s packaging. I love the size of the canned goods, the sturdiness of the carton, and the design of the jar! Not to mention the fact that their graphic designs are excellent – all of this speaks to a quality product, in my book!

Second of all, since I had already used pasta with one product, I didn’t really want to use this for pasta again. I wasn’t quite sure what to do with it…until my husband requested a meatball sub.

Of course.

DSC_0087

Can you see how thick that sauce is? It really was amazing, and my husband deemed it the “best meatball sub ever!” Definitely the sauce, he was sure of it!

All in all, I have to hand it to Dei Fratelli. It’s obvious how much the details mean to them! I’ve never opened a pre-packaged item and thought to myself, this looks like it could have been homemade! And I sure don’t see how I can ever use any other brand of canned tomatoes again. I’m definitely hooked.

Thanks to Dei Fratelli for allowing me to review their products! You can find out much more about them by visiting any of the following links:

DeiFratelli.com
Facebook.com/DeiFratelli
Pinterest.com/deifratelli/
Twitter.com/DeiFratelli
Instagram.com/dei_fratelli

Have you ever used Dei Fratelli products? Do they carry them in your local grocery store?

 

51 thoughts on “New Product Review: Dei Fratelli Tomato Products!

  1. I don’t think I’ve ever heard of the brand, but it looks and sounds amazing. I especially like the finely chopped tomatoes. It looks almost like a tomato puree. I’ll have to look for it in the grocery store. And the foods you cooked and paired with the tomato products look really yummy, too!

  2. I vaguely remember seeing that brand but have never purchased it. I will look for the spaghetti sauce next time I shop. AND I happen to really like sauerkraut-so I will look for that as well!

  3. These products look really high quality. I have never seen this brand in our store but I will have to look for it next time I go shopping. I would love to use the sauce in a few of my recipes.

  4. The Italian chopped tomatoes looked delicious right out of the can. I can just imagine the dishes I would prepare with them.

Leave a Reply

