Creative Wedding Ideas! (Part 1)

Most of you know that I work full-time in insurance, but I also have a photography business that I own/operate, as well. I was working on editing some wedding photos this week, and I started thinking about all the creativity I’ve seen at weddings over the years. There’s some really cute ideas I’ve had the privilege to photograph! So I thought I’d take a post (or two, at this rate) and share them with all of you! All photos to follow taken by: ME!

1. See if your venue will pay tribute to you! (This couple’s reception location gave them a shout-out!)

16232_198906577337_595687337_3110361_821921_n

2. Use items that are treasured! (Such as the family Bible!)

215102_224954807549080_1219625_n

3. Weather-appropriate items always work! (Like a parasol in Florida!)

459652_419813508063208_1678795064_o

4. Don’t be afraid to buck “tradition” a little! (Like cake AND cupcakes!)

921060_567061600005064_927134168_o

5. Centerpieces don’t have to be “fancy”! (I LOVE what they did with this tin can!)

DSC_0030c

6. Everything doesn’t HAVE to be matchy-matchy! (I’m LOVING the brides who are wearing fashion-statement shoes instead of “dyeables”!)

DSC_0032B

7. Have a useful and personal “guest book”! (Like this piece of art that can be hung in the home of the bride and groom!)

DSC_0049

DSC_0047

Or one like this!

DSC_0108

8. Cover unseemly areas in a very simple manner (like this sheer white backdrop that sets the pictures off beautifully!)

DSC_0055

9. Mix accents! (Like roses and leather, traditional and flashy!)

DSC_0085B

10. Give your guests something personal as they go! (Like your favorite sweet!)

DSC_0115

11. Honor loved ones who have passed on, and let your guests participate, too!

DSC_0139

And this bride carried pieces of loved one’s jewelry in her bouquet as a memorial to them!

DSC_0601

12. Don’t be afraid to be unique! (See all the tools on the walls? And I LOVE those cake “pedestals”!)

DSC_0121

Yes, I have enough of these to fill another blog post – coming soon!

What was your favorite? Get any ideas from this post? I sure do love to see people’s creativity shine through!

93 thoughts on “Creative Wedding Ideas! (Part 1)

  1. These really are very unique and interesting ideas. They make the wedding something very special and certainly not likely to be forgotten! I do love the tin can center piece. I also love the idea of a small wedding cake with lots of cupcakes on the side.

  2. I love that you can make a wedding whatever you want. My wedding day however was a bit unique. I had the stomach flu so we had a garbage can between us, I refused to postpone it as we would have had to get a new license, lol. It was an interesting day that definitely made a lot of memories!

  3. You’ve got a lot of great tips and ideas here. I love the idea of a parasol, especially in Florida! And I love the idea of a basket full of treats for guests to indulge in at will. šŸ™‚

  4. Great ideas! I shared on FB because my daughters have lots of friends getting married or engaged. Thank!

  5. I have 2 sons getting married in Sept. These are great ideas! Love them Brandi. I really like the parasol, bible and jewelry in the flowers.
    My youngest son got married last year, they did the thumb print guest registry and she painted the tree. Cool idea.
    Friends renewed their vows at 25 years and did the signature mat around a photo of them. Great ideas.

  6. At our wedding, we framed our engagement photo and had our guests sign the mat. It’s one of our favorite art pieces! Being creative is what sets your wedding apart from all the others.

  7. I remember seeing a movie where the bride wore white tennis shoes with a bright ribbon for laces, and thought it was very cute. I’d definitely go with shoes that had personality. I love the non-traditional wedding ideas.

  8. So many great ideas! I loved the cupcakes because they looked so yummy, the bible picture, so meaningful and the thumb picture, what a great idea! Oh and there were many more! Will pin some for my kids future wedding ;).

  9. I like the ideas that use juxtaposition (roses and leather) or fun elements (moon pies and crayons with flowers in tin cans) I also loved the rustic feel with the wagon and banner! I would go crazy with fun details like that.

  10. These are great ideas with beautiful picture to illustrate them. I would probably pick the last one as my favorite because I like things like this that are a little bit different and unique.

  11. These pictures are awesome! I love the ideas! If I was getting married again, I’d just love to do some of these things. I plan to renew vows in 4 years, so maybe I will do things like this!

  12. First off, you took some great photos!!! =) I love these ideas. We had a lot of “nontraditional” things in our wedding. We had a foot washing ceremony, combined unity sand instead of a unity candle, and at our reception we didn’t even have a cake!!! Just chocolate fondue! (Neither of us like cake much). It’s so important to make your wedding day about what YOU want and not what every one else expects!

  13. OH more please! … I feel like I’m on your Christmas tour all over again!! So much fun!! Weddings are not in my near future.. not until grandsons get a bit (lot) older.. but so much inspiration for other events. The picture with large border for others to sign.. I did that for a going away gift a few years ago. I printed an office outing picture in black and white, hand wrote a farewell poem around photo then had all the co-workers in the building sign the border.. I knew it was a hit when it was opened and she had tears at the personal gift. So much nicer than a coffee mug!! haha.. but then again even a coffee mug could be made to be personalized thanks to pinterest! So many great inspirations here for so much more than just weddings… I can’t stand the suspense.. can’t wait for your next post!! Christmas all over again!!!!

  14. Pingback: Creative Wedding Ideas! (Part 2) |

Leave a comment